Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

The place for artists, modellers, level designers et al to discuss their approaches for creating content for OGRE.
Post Reply
User avatar
JJJohan
Gnoblar
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2008 1:02 pm
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by JJJohan » Tue Apr 15, 2014 9:14 am

Good point about the Max SDK.. The morpher sample built fine so I'm guessing it's an issue with Ogre as there were a few things missing. (Lod and animation related) so I'll grab the latest 1.9 source and create a new build. Thanks!
0 x

arkeon
Goblin
Posts: 271
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 6:02 pm
x 4

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by arkeon » Tue Apr 15, 2014 9:17 am

Yes I've update to the Ogre 1.9 trunk last time.
you should just update it
0 x
OpenSpace 3D Project manager
http://www.openspace3d.com

User avatar
JJJohan
Gnoblar
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2008 1:02 pm
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by JJJohan » Fri Apr 18, 2014 6:02 am

I managed to compile it against Ogre 2.0, well isn't that a treat :)!
0 x

arkeon
Goblin
Posts: 271
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 6:02 pm
x 4

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by arkeon » Fri Apr 18, 2014 8:26 am

Ok good thing to know :)
0 x
OpenSpace 3D Project manager
http://www.openspace3d.com

fatmouse
Gnoblar
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2014 10:09 am

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by fatmouse » Wed Apr 30, 2014 2:14 am

both x86 and x64 version failed with my autodesk 3dsmax 2012 64-bit:

error info:

failed to initialize,ErrorCode 193 - % 1 not an invalid win32 program
0 x

arkeon
Goblin
Posts: 271
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 6:02 pm
x 4

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by arkeon » Wed Apr 30, 2014 8:12 am

Did you use the setup program to install the exporter ?
Do you have admin rights on the computer ?

(EOE 2.0 works for me on Max 2012)
0 x
OpenSpace 3D Project manager
http://www.openspace3d.com

fatmouse
Gnoblar
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2014 10:09 am

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by fatmouse » Wed May 14, 2014 3:23 pm

i just copy .dle file to 3dsmax\plugins.
i download the file again, it works well now :)
0 x

NemesisMate
Gnoblar
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat May 17, 2014 2:23 pm

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by NemesisMate » Sat May 17, 2014 2:28 pm

Are you adding an option to export it to Ogre .XML format (.skeleton.xml and .mesh.xml)?. The compiled files give me some problems on JME3. I can convert it vith the ogre converter but It would be better if this plugins did it by it self. :wink:
0 x

arkeon
Goblin
Posts: 271
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 6:02 pm
x 4

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by arkeon » Sat May 17, 2014 4:47 pm

What sort of problem do you have ?

exporting this resources in xml could be done, but this is a lot of work. maybe that your problem could be managed in an option for meshes buffers
0 x
OpenSpace 3D Project manager
http://www.openspace3d.com

NemesisMate
Gnoblar
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat May 17, 2014 2:23 pm

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by NemesisMate » Sat May 17, 2014 6:44 pm

arkeon wrote:What sort of problem do you have ?
Actually I'm just trying to export some models and import them after on JME3. This is giving me some problems when importing them if they are compiled (Cannot locate Models/prueba4/Cylinder.mesh.xml for scene Models/prueba4/cilinder.scene), JME3 tries to find the .mesh.xml so I'm using a converter between compiled -> .xml (OgreXMLConverter, on Ogre-1.9-tools on Ubuntu).
0 x

arkeon
Goblin
Posts: 271
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 6:02 pm
x 4

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by arkeon » Sat May 17, 2014 7:54 pm

didn't known about JME3, but yes it seems it use only xml formats.

I'll try to add this option in the exporter when I'll have time (I already did this on an another exporter) but this is not a priority for now.
0 x
OpenSpace 3D Project manager
http://www.openspace3d.com

Tourmenboy
Gnoblar
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2014 3:09 pm

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by Tourmenboy » Wed Sep 03, 2014 3:25 pm

A ~week ago i started to build exporter. EasyOgreExporter.dle is built successfully but when i'm trying to export, 3ds max throw "An error has occured." And crashes.

Last three lines from exporter log:
...
Writing Box001 mesh binary...
Info: Create Ogre submeshs
Info: create submesh1 : 0

PS: Max 2013, OGRE 1.9

Please help, no ideas i have ((
0 x

arkeon
Goblin
Posts: 271
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 6:02 pm
x 4

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by arkeon » Wed Sep 03, 2014 3:31 pm

Hi

did you try in debug ? to see where it crash exactly.
Did you made changes in the exporter ?
0 x
OpenSpace 3D Project manager
http://www.openspace3d.com

Tourmenboy
Gnoblar
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2014 3:09 pm

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by Tourmenboy » Wed Sep 03, 2014 4:34 pm

No changes in exporter I made.
I set some log spots and found that it crashed in method "createOgreSubmesh" (Exmesh.cpp)

Also I tried to do it with downloaded version (https://arkeon.dyndns.org/svn-scol/trun ... ax%202013/) and this version works good.

But I'm going to change some features in exporter. Have you more advices ?

Ps: all stuff built on 64 bit with _SECURE_SCL=0; in preprocessor.
0 x

arkeon
Goblin
Posts: 271
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 6:02 pm
x 4

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by arkeon » Wed Sep 03, 2014 5:32 pm

I have no idea :/
Check the ogre build settings.

Your object is a simple cube ?
0 x
OpenSpace 3D Project manager
http://www.openspace3d.com

Tourmenboy
Gnoblar
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2014 3:09 pm

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by Tourmenboy » Wed Sep 03, 2014 5:51 pm

And scene with 3 simple objects(cube, sphere, pyramid) and more complex scene (with objects and animation) crashes while exporting.
Thank you for your time.
0 x

Tourmenboy
Gnoblar
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2014 3:09 pm

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by Tourmenboy » Wed Sep 03, 2014 6:43 pm

It fails on this line:
new Ogre::VertexData();
May be somebody know what is it wrong here? No default constructor?
0 x

User avatar
dark_sylinc
OGRE Team Member
OGRE Team Member
Posts: 4148
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2007 4:55 pm
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
x 269
Contact:

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by dark_sylinc » Wed Sep 03, 2014 7:11 pm

Tourmenboy wrote:It fails on this line:
new Ogre::VertexData();
May be somebody know what is it wrong here? No default constructor?
Try OGRE_NEW Ogre::VertexData();
What's the compiler error?
0 x

Tourmenboy
Gnoblar
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2014 3:09 pm

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by Tourmenboy » Thu Sep 04, 2014 7:47 am

dark_sylinc wrote:
Tourmenboy wrote:It fails on this line:
new Ogre::VertexData();
May be somebody know what is it wrong here? No default constructor?
Try OGRE_NEW Ogre::VertexData();
What's the compiler error?
No compiler error) it fails at runtime when i'm trying to export.
OGRE_NEW Ogre::VertexData(); - no effects ((
0 x

arkeon
Goblin
Posts: 271
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 6:02 pm
x 4

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by arkeon » Thu Sep 04, 2014 8:05 am

Did you try a rebuild all ?
On Ogre and EOE.
0 x
OpenSpace 3D Project manager
http://www.openspace3d.com

Tourmenboy
Gnoblar
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2014 3:09 pm

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by Tourmenboy » Thu Sep 04, 2014 9:40 am

arkeon wrote:Did you try a rebuild all ?
On Ogre and EOE.
Yes, still does not export. Can dependencies of OGRE cause it?
Have you successfully working EOE VS2010 64bit project for 2013 3dMax with all libs(ogre, dependencies, cg, freeimage, nvtt, etc. already built)? If yes, can you share it?
I'm despaired.
0 x

arkeon
Goblin
Posts: 271
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 6:02 pm
x 4

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by arkeon » Thu Sep 04, 2014 10:13 am

Yes you have to build the Ogre dependencies also.

Did you apply the VS2010 SP1 ?

EOE dependencies build are 3.5Go size ^^

Did you follow the readme file correctly ?

This is really strange several people build it without problem
0 x
OpenSpace 3D Project manager
http://www.openspace3d.com

arkeon
Goblin
Posts: 271
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 6:02 pm
x 4

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by arkeon » Thu Sep 04, 2014 10:18 am

Ho since max 2015 you need to use VS2012.
You should better try with this one
0 x
OpenSpace 3D Project manager
http://www.openspace3d.com

Tourmenboy
Gnoblar
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2014 3:09 pm

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by Tourmenboy » Mon Sep 08, 2014 12:43 pm

I removed and reinstalled MSVC and SP1 and redownloaded and rebuilt some dependecies (except ogre dependencies, see below guide details) and all works fine now. I don't know were my problem hided.))
Thank you guys for your answers!)

My successful build guide for 64 bit PC:
Build features of EasyOgreExporter (EOE)
1. EOE depends from:
• 3dsmax sdk libs and includes (sdk provided with 3ds max application)
• 3ds max sdk morpher (you can find it in the 3ds max sdk samples directory)
There is a Microsoft Visual studio solution project in the maxsdk\samples\modifiers\morpher\ path.
• Ogre dependencies (used snapshot from 02.08.2014 64bit)
Link: http://www.ogre3d.org/forums/viewtopic.php?t=69274
Or you may download it from sources and build it manually (I used pre built versions because a lot of time lost to successfully build at this time).
• Ogre main static lib. (used 1-9-0 last version sources.)
Link: https://bitbucket.org/sinbad/ogre
Download and build it manually for your PC.
• NVidia texture tools (used 2.1.0 version)
Link: https://code.google.com/p/nvidia-texture-tools/
• Tinyxml (used 2.6.2 version)
Link: http://www.grinninglizard.com/tinyxml/
These libs and headers you can place in the “ext” directory of eoe project.
2. Add _SECURE_SCL=0 the preprocessor’s options to the EOE project properties.
3. To debug in max you need to build in hybrid mode (pick it in the studio solution configuration window) and launch max from the debugger.
4. If you want rebuild all dependencies of EOE project, you may need to install Visual Studio Service Pack 1 before building.

PS: Dont forget to check/install 64 bit compiler for MSVC.
0 x

arkeon
Goblin
Posts: 271
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 6:02 pm
x 4

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by arkeon » Mon Sep 08, 2014 2:26 pm

Great :)
Thanks for the build tutorial.
0 x
OpenSpace 3D Project manager
http://www.openspace3d.com

Post Reply