Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

The place for artists, modellers, level designers et al to discuss their approaches for creating content for OGRE.
LePawel
Halfling
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2013 10:39 am

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by LePawel » Tue Jul 21, 2015 4:04 pm

Any chance to get submesh support? I.e export to single .mesh file instead of 1 for each object in max?
0 x

arkeon
Goblin
Posts: 269
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 6:02 pm
x 1

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by arkeon » Tue Jul 21, 2015 4:05 pm

just select all the objects in max and collapse then into one mesh.
0 x
OpenSpace 3D Project manager
http://www.openspace3d.com

arkeon
Goblin
Posts: 269
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 6:02 pm
x 1

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by arkeon » Sun Jul 26, 2015 11:38 am

Hi !

EOE is now available with support to 3dsMax 2016.

Setup : https://arkeon.dyndns.org/svn-scol/trun ... EOEMax.exe
0 x
OpenSpace 3D Project manager
http://www.openspace3d.com

fluido
Gnoblar
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2015 2:44 pm

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by fluido » Wed Sep 16, 2015 3:28 pm

First of all, many thanks to Bastien and to the other kind souls who contributed this fine code.

I know I may run the risk of asking something obvious, but I have researched a lot without success.

I am in the process of writing a code that uses Ogre to display a virtual reality environment - all this while making all possible efforts to stay as clear as possible from C++, which is a language that I do not appreciate much.

I have successfully displayed complex ManualObjects and even can update in real time a 2D surface from my C code that I then use as texture for a pair of triangles. All this is good - a lot of sweat, but I am quite satisfied.

Part of what I must do has to do with displaying scenes that others will craft using 3dsmax. I could provide your fine exporter to my colleague and I now have some material to work with. I parse the XML .scene file and fill up my network of nodes.

For simple scenes, all seems to be OK.

When scenes begin to be more complex, I am experiencing strange incongruities (scaling and positioning of objects that are evidently wrong, but not in an obvious way).

I based my code on the 'dotsceneformat' code found within the ogreaddons. Without being able to test that code since it is windows-only (I use Linux). This, after finding out that:
  • the page on the Ogre wiki that describes the dotscene format has not been updated since 2010.
  • the so-called 'New dotscene loader is also from 2010, and incomplete WRT the files that your exporter generates.
  • no hit comes out when case-insensitively grepping my whole ogre directory (which includes sources and compiled binaries) for the word 'dotscene'.
I noticed that the 'dotsceneformat' code from ogreaddons does not mention the keyword 'subentity,' which your exporter code includes in resulting XML files. I found out that those parts of the scene file are fundamental for obtaining proper texture mapping for meshes. This makes me think that that is not the code that is currently used by the Ogre community for parsing dotscene files. But I searched quite a lot without finding anything that seemed more current. On the other hand, I went through the many messages accumulated under this topic since 2012, and I received the impression that everybody who uses the exporter seem to have no doubt as to which way to go when importing the resulting files into Ogre.

Thus, my question: where can I find the code that is currently used to import dotscene file into Ogre? The code that is in sync with your development on the exporter? It would be very very useful for my current efforts.

Thanks, and once again sorry if I am asking something obvious.

Carlo
0 x

arkeon
Goblin
Posts: 269
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 6:02 pm
x 1

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by arkeon » Wed Oct 14, 2015 1:19 pm

Hi !

unfortunately I don't use a C++ scene parser to load my scenes ^^
This code is into OpenSpace3D software and is done in Scol language.

The scene format is largely inspired on the Ogre dot scene format plus some features I saw in OgreMax scene format (the one I use before making my own exporter) and some custom users needs.
But you're right I don't have any clear definition of this format ^^

The subentity tag is not a constrain since the mesh file should already contains the corrects information about the materials. This is defined to use with editors to change the subentity material or restore the default one.

About scaling /positions issue. this is generally a problem from Max scene.
Before exporting make sure all the objects pivots and X-Form are correct. (use Reset Xform after you unlinked the objets hierarchy only)

If you get some scene with bad behaviors just send me the scene parts which fail and I will try to find out what's going wrong
0 x
OpenSpace 3D Project manager
http://www.openspace3d.com

arkeon
Goblin
Posts: 269
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 6:02 pm
x 1

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by arkeon » Tue Nov 10, 2015 11:51 pm

EOE 2.3.4 setup updated :
- some corrections on UV channels in shaders
- shader generation now also generate glsles shaders

give it a try and report any issue :)
0 x
OpenSpace 3D Project manager
http://www.openspace3d.com

arkeon
Goblin
Posts: 269
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 6:02 pm
x 1

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by arkeon » Wed Nov 18, 2015 11:47 pm

Jump to EOE 2.4
- support of composite texture type (one layer with one mask - and only when shader 3 lights is selected - CG and GLSLES). This allow to use a mask texture for reflection, normal, spec, illumination ...
- correction on IFL (IFL manager in tools) animated textures support, now with correct speed and all correct textures files

From my tests the shaders works pretty good on android devices :)
0 x
OpenSpace 3D Project manager
http://www.openspace3d.com

Gao
Gnoblar
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2015 6:19 am

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by Gao » Tue Nov 24, 2015 6:25 am

Please let me thank you for this amazing exporter.
I`m working with a game using the 1.7 version of Ogre, and this works wonderful. It`s also my only choice, since other exporters works with versions 1.8 or higher.

My question and problem is the animations and .skeleton files. All works great but I was wandering if I can export each animation in a separate file. What I have seen is that the exporter exports all the animations into one single .skeleton file. What I need is one animation per file .skeleton.
So if I have a Walk, Bind, and Stand I want to have 3 .skeleton files (walk.skeleton, stand.skeleton, bind.skeleton)

Is this possible to configure? is there a tool to do this?

I know how to work around this but normally is a pain, and not very productive.

Again thanks for all the help and this work! Keep it up!
0 x

arkeon
Goblin
Posts: 269
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 6:02 pm
x 1

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by arkeon » Sat Dec 05, 2015 1:56 pm

Hello

no at this point there is no way to split skeleton animation into several ones directly from the exporter.

if you are familiar with C++ I recommend you to modify the exporter to add an option for this and then contribute, (I don't even know what the skeleton files should have in data in your case, so I'm not sure what I could change on my side)
0 x
OpenSpace 3D Project manager
http://www.openspace3d.com

User avatar
hebdemnobad
Goblin
Posts: 274
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 5:09 pm
Location: catskill escarpment, new york, usa
Contact:

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by hebdemnobad » Tue Dec 15, 2015 3:36 pm

Hey arkeon...different place same screennames!

About bone scaling keyframes, I'm having trouble with doing that with the blender2ogre exporter, and somewhere earlier in this thread you mentioned that bone scaling is not supported by the easy ogre exporter.

Are nonuniform bone scaling keyframes simply not possible in ogre? (I'm wondering if the problem is with the blender2ogre exporter or is simply a limitation of ogre itself.)
0 x

arkeon
Goblin
Posts: 269
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 6:02 pm
x 1

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by arkeon » Wed Dec 16, 2015 11:19 pm

I just don't remember the reason ^^
but I remember I pulled my air off to only make the exporter to get bones correctly, so maybe I just didn't wanted to break it again...
0 x
OpenSpace 3D Project manager
http://www.openspace3d.com

arkeon
Goblin
Posts: 269
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 6:02 pm
x 1

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by arkeon » Wed Dec 16, 2015 11:22 pm

Hello !

EOE V 2.5
- manage UV Offset and rotation animation from material texture (get the speed and direction from the last track time)
- manage uv animation in shaders
- ambient texture is now added not modulated
- illumination texture added for basic Mat
- correct texture animation time (again)
- remove option to export shaders with multi pass (was not updated)
0 x
OpenSpace 3D Project manager
http://www.openspace3d.com

User avatar
hebdemnobad
Goblin
Posts: 274
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 5:09 pm
Location: catskill escarpment, new york, usa
Contact:

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by hebdemnobad » Wed Dec 16, 2015 11:32 pm

arkeon wrote:I just don't remember the reason ^^
but I remember I pulled my air off to only make the exporter to get bones correctly, so maybe I just didn't wanted to break it again...
Thx Arkeon. ...from several threads it appears that ogre 1.x doesn't support nonunifom scaling.
0 x

arkeon
Goblin
Posts: 269
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 6:02 pm
x 1

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by arkeon » Fri Oct 14, 2016 5:23 pm

EOE have been updated with Max 2017 support and is now build with Ogre 2.0
0 x
OpenSpace 3D Project manager
http://www.openspace3d.com

New_Ogre_User
Gnoblar
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2017 9:39 am

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by New_Ogre_User » Wed Apr 05, 2017 9:46 am

Hey

I have scene with multiple animations. When I export that scene all animations are included however every animation has the name "default" and enable is "false".

Is there a way to give these animations unique names or set enable to true by default?

Thanks.
0 x

arkeon
Goblin
Posts: 269
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 6:02 pm
x 1

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by arkeon » Sat Apr 29, 2017 7:57 pm

Hello,

yes you can define animation names and interval using the time tags.
check http://www.ogre3d.org/tikiwiki/Easy+Ogre+Exporter for infos.

You can also find a more complete documentation about supported max features in the OpenSpace3D ebook : http://www.openspace3d.com/buy-openspac ... enspace3d/
0 x
OpenSpace 3D Project manager
http://www.openspace3d.com

paroj
OGRE Team Member
OGRE Team Member
Posts: 834
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2014 2:51 pm
x 147
Contact:

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by paroj » Fri Aug 04, 2017 1:19 pm

mirrored on github for easier discoverability:
https://github.com/OGRECave/EasyOgreExporter
0 x

petrotheos
Gnoblar
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2017 5:37 pm

Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX 2017

Post by petrotheos » Tue Sep 26, 2017 10:22 pm

I press export and dialog properly says file exported but no file created. I ran 3ds max as admin but didn't work.
0 x

petrotheos
Gnoblar
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2017 5:37 pm

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by petrotheos » Sat Oct 07, 2017 2:55 pm

Easy Ogre Exporter uses non Unicode characters and cant save to user folder.
0 x

choub
Gnoblar
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2015 3:43 pm

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by choub » Wed Nov 15, 2017 9:34 am

Hello everybody,
I use Easy Ogre Exporter for 3Ds Max 2017 for scientists ogre application, and I use a .scene file to import my scene in Ogre.
In my scene the nodes are positioned at more than 1000 meters (my map is over 1km²) , and I need a precision of 8 to 10 numbers for the nodes positions (actually it's 6 numbers).
Actually, in my scene, I've got a hole of 1 to 5 millimeter between two meshes.

Image
My result


Image

In 3Ds Max, the green part is positioned at: x="-2407.474" | y="165.667" | z="-1496.645"
In .scene, the green part is positioned at: " <position x="-2407.47" y="165.667" z="-1496.65" /> "

In 3Ds Max, the red part is positioned at: x="-2393.831" | y="165.605" | z="-1511.764"
In .scene, the red part is positioned at: " <position x="-2393.83" y="165.605" z="-1511.76" /> "

The problem comes from the library "TinyXml" that doesn't propose to modify the number of "digits" after the dot (or the comma). Do you plan to use TinyXml2 (or something else) to propose a more accurate version of the .scene ?

If not, do you have a solution for my problem ?
0 x

arkeon
Goblin
Posts: 269
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 6:02 pm
x 1

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by arkeon » Fri Dec 29, 2017 5:01 pm

Hello, I've just finally found some time to update EOE with max 2018 support.

I was not aware about the tinyxml limitation. I'll try to check this.
0 x
OpenSpace 3D Project manager
http://www.openspace3d.com

User avatar
miki3d
Halfling
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2012 1:30 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by miki3d » Thu Mar 01, 2018 7:13 pm

Hi there!
We have an issue with skeletons exporting from 3dsmax 2018 and EOE
Just as example, I'm trying to export a simple animation, a bending cylinder with a simple 3 bones setup and a skin modifier:

Image

It totally explodes inside the ogre player:

Image

Also tried to add time tags but the mesh still explodes, it seems stretched over one axis, but not scales are applied to the object.

Thx
0 x
Image
Co-Founder and Design Director at VaeVictis
Current project Racecraft

arkeon
Goblin
Posts: 269
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 6:02 pm
x 1

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by arkeon » Thu Mar 01, 2018 7:26 pm

Are you sure about your scene loader ? Does it apply the scale correctly ?
I just made the same test on OpenSpace3D from Max 2017 version and it's working.
I'll try to check this on Max 2018 when I'll get some time to install it ^^
0 x
OpenSpace 3D Project manager
http://www.openspace3d.com

User avatar
TaaTT4
OGRE Contributor
OGRE Contributor
Posts: 157
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 3:49 pm
x 16

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by TaaTT4 » Fri Mar 02, 2018 7:00 pm

Hi @arkeon,

I'm working with @miki3d on the programming side.

It seems the issue is caused by upgrading the mesh from 1.10 format (default for Easy OGRE) to 2.1 R2 format (default for OGRE 2.1).
It's totally unrelated to which 3ds Max version is used.

The mesh upgrade happens using the OgreMeshTool utility (provided by OGRE) in the following way:

Code: Select all

OgreMeshTool.exe -V2 -O puq Cylinder001.mesh Cylinder001.mesh
Removing the -O puq flags makes the upgrade succeed.

I spoke with @dark_sylinc (OGRE 2.1 lead developer) about this and he made me notice that the mesh exported from Easy OGRE has an empty vertex buffer :O
He's not sure that this is the culprit for the upgrading issue, but an exported mesh with an empty vertex buffer isn't sane.

Here you can find the exported mesh in both binary and text format (where you can easily see the empty buffer).
0 x
Senior game programmer at Vae Victis
Working on Racecraft

arkeon
Goblin
Posts: 269
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 6:02 pm
x 1

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by arkeon » Fri Mar 02, 2018 7:25 pm

weird ^^
what options are you using on export ?
can you try with different export options, disable edgelist for example.

what the export log file says ?
0 x
OpenSpace 3D Project manager
http://www.openspace3d.com

Post Reply