Can't import model in level ! But it works in meshviewer!

The place for artists, modellers, level designers et al to discuss their approaches for creating content for OGRE.
Post Reply
Shadix
Gnoblar
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 4:28 pm
Contact:

Can't import model in level ! But it works in meshviewer!

Post by Shadix »

Hi,
I am modler working for a german game project.
Recently i modeled some trees and exported them as usual.
I tested the exported files in the meshviewer and they worked.
Here is a screen.(Meshviewer)
Image

After exporting the files and testing them, i sent them to one of our mappers and he tried to put the models in our landscape but it didn't work.
First we tried the exportet mesh.xml , material + png
Second try was the mesh u get when using the meshviewer.

We uses that file too, and something happened , but not the right thing. A wireframe of the model appeared but without texture.
And we got an error message:
Warning: Urbaum.mesh is an older format...u should upgrade ist...

The strange thing is, that it's not the first model i exported and which worked.

Whats wrong.? I didn' change any of my technics :/

User avatar
sinbad
OGRE Retired Team Member
OGRE Retired Team Member
Posts: 19265
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2002 11:19 pm
Location: Guernsey, Channel Islands
x 66
Contact:

Post by sinbad »

Don't use the MeshViewer to convert files, it isn't necessarily up to date with the latest code (since it is a community add-on). Use the official OgreXmlConverter.

Shadix
Gnoblar
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 4:28 pm
Contact:

Post by Shadix »

usually i don't use the meshviewer and just send the mesh.xml , the material and the png (zipped) to our mappers.
But the stuff didn#t work.
Anyways, thx for ur reply .

EDIT:Don't get me wrong --> Files worked in Meshviewer

User avatar
sinbad
OGRE Retired Team Member
OGRE Retired Team Member
Posts: 19265
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2002 11:19 pm
Location: Guernsey, Channel Islands
x 66
Contact:

Post by sinbad »

The 'Urbaum.mesh is an older format' shows that the code being used to export the .mesh is not the same version as the version of Ogre being used to load it. If you use OgreXmlConverter from the same release as runtime Ogre you should not get that error, I asume you're not.

Other than that, please elaborate on what you mean by 'it didn't work' when you use OgreXmlConverter.

Shadix
Gnoblar
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 4:28 pm
Contact:

Post by Shadix »

ok thx

Shadix
Gnoblar
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 4:28 pm
Contact:

Post by Shadix »

ok, i am so glad, one of our coders found the bug!
I used 16-bit per channel for the PNG and not 8.
After we changed that the model worked as usual.
I am sorry, the exporters work fine :oops:

I am just still wondering why the meshviewer could show the model.

RoundSparrow
Greenskin
Posts: 145
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2005 4:36 am
Location: Arica, Chile
Contact:

Post by RoundSparrow »

Shadix, any chance you can share the 3d models of the trees? They look great and I'd love to have a copy.

Post Reply