About the face of model

The place for artists, modellers, level designers et al to discuss their approaches for creating content for OGRE.
Post Reply
kaiwae
Gnoblar
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2005 11:04 am

About the face of model

Post by kaiwae »

I want to put a model about 4000 face,put 3 model in the wiindow

for the video-card TNT2 16MB PIII-500 RAM:256MB, I could not have fast fps

how many face could be limite?

User avatar
RyanN
Halfling
Posts: 82
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2004 6:41 am
Location: Victoria, Australia
Contact:

Post by RyanN »

12,000polys on the screen shouldn't be too slow, try optimising/lowering the polys abit and textures if your using them, otherwise it might time to upgrade that TNT2 :D

Lodes
Google Summer of Code Student
Google Summer of Code Student
Posts: 228
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2003 12:02 am
Location: San Jose, CA, USA

Post by Lodes »

what kind of fps are you getting? If using windows, were you using a release build?

The TNT2 card is quite old too, and with 16mb of memory you really should check that your textures aren't too big.

I used to have a Geforce 2 MX 400, P3-600;and 300 and some odd ram and I could still maintain acceptable framerate 30+fps with quite a lot of triangles on the screen (100k+). (That was back in Ogre 0.12-0.13)

kaiwae
Gnoblar
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2005 11:04 am

Post by kaiwae »

Lodes wrote:what kind of fps are you getting? If using windows, were you using a release build?

The TNT2 card is quite old too, and with 16mb of memory you really should check that your textures aren't too big.

I used to have a Geforce 2 MX 400, P3-600;and 300 and some odd ram and I could still maintain acceptable framerate 30+fps with quite a lot of triangles on the screen (100k+). (That was back in Ogre 0.12-0.13)
which mode you use?

full-screen? opengl? directX9? directX7?

User avatar
sinbad
OGRE Retired Team Member
OGRE Retired Team Member
Posts: 19265
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2002 11:19 pm
Location: Guernsey, Channel Islands
x 66
Contact:

Post by sinbad »

The TNT2 card is quite old too
Quite old? It's pushing 6 years old now, in GPU years that's about 200 ;).

It's probably your batching, texture size or exessive transparency. If those 12,000 polys are rendered in 2000 batches, or you're using big textures or using lots of scene_blend it's not going to perform.

Post Reply