What do YOU want in a BSP compiler?

The place for artists, modellers, level designers et al to discuss their approaches for creating content for OGRE.
qsilver
OGRE Community Helper
OGRE Community Helper

What do YOU want in a BSP compiler?

Post by qsilver »

Hi guys,

I am working on an open-source MAP->BSP compiler and lightmapping tool, designed for use with Ogre. A preliminary version should be available some time in March. This is a serious project, and I intend to provide a commercial-quality release.

Anyway, I'm taking requests for features! Here is a short list of interesting things which I am hoping to implement:

- full global illumination via photon mapping
- option: "ASAP" mode, trade accuracy for speed
- option: convert output to Y-up coordinate system
- automatic portal generation

However, I'm not a level designer, and I don't know what you guys really want. What's a cool feature that you'd like to see? What's a common problem that you'd like me to address? Tell me!
Last edited by qsilver on Tue Apr 19, 2005 7:47 am, edited 1 time in total.
jacmoe
OGRE Retired Moderator
OGRE Retired Moderator

Post by jacmoe »

Would be nice to have userdefined objects in the map, like entities, triggers, etc.
And it would be cool to have it integrate with OgreODE, like setting physics properties (slippery floors, etc.)
And maybe funcs, like doors, buttons, etc. (Entities with scripts/callbacks attatched)
Shaders ...

Great news, qsilver! :)
/* Less noise. More signal. */
Ogitor Scenebuilder - powered by Ogre, presented by Qt, fueled by Passion.
OgreAddons - the Ogre code suppository.
Fredz
Greenskin

Post by Fredz »