Texturing 3D Models

The place for artists, modellers, level designers et al to discuss their approaches for creating content for OGRE.
Owl53
Halfling

Texturing 3D Models

Post by Owl53 »

Hi,

Being perfectly honest, I'm a programmer, and as a result I have very little experience in creating 3D Models. For my own personal projects though I would like to create my own assets and therefore I need to work on improving my texturing skills. I've mostly used Maya in the past for the modelling, but I'm currently using Blender, but texture wise my models so far have been limited to just basic diffuse textures. How do I go about creating more realistic looking models? Do I need to start looking into specular, normal and bump maps? Is that the next step on from basic textures? It really isn't something I have a great deal of knowledge about, so any suggestions on how to improve would be great.

Thanks in advance!
xrgo
OGRE Expert User
OGRE Expert User

Re: Texturing 3D Models

Post by xrgo »

Hello! PBR (physically base rendering/shading) is the thing now, study a little about that and then check substance painter, quixel, blender 2.8 (eevee), armorpaint, etc. I recommend metalness workflow (simpler, less textures/channels)
Ogre 2.1+ supports PBS by default, not sure about 1.X, but you can always implement it yourself

cheers!
Owl53
Halfling

Post by Owl53 »

xrgo wrote: Fri Mar 08, 2019 10:03 pm Hello! PBR (physically base rendering/shading) is the thing now, study a little about that and then check substance painter, quixel, blender 2.8 (eevee), armorpaint, etc. I recommend metalness workflow (simpler, less textures/channels)
Ogre 2.1+ supports PBS by default, not sure about 1.X, but you can always implement it yourself

cheers!