Problems with distrubuting my app

Get answers to all your basic programming questions. No Ogre questions, please!
User avatar
danharibo
Minaton
Posts: 997
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2006 8:14 pm
Location: Wales, United Kingdom
Contact:

Problems with distrubuting my app

Post by danharibo »

When i gave my app to the BETA testers, they got this error:
The app has failed to start because it's side by side config is incorrect. Please see the application event log for more info.

I Don't see a why to fix it. so maybe you can help? :roll:
User avatar
Kencho
OGRE Retired Moderator
OGRE Retired Moderator
Posts: 4011
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 6:28 pm
Location: Burgos, Spain
x 2
Contact:

Post by Kencho »

You might have included a config file with incompatible settings (a different gfx card model) and trying to use them as are.
Nonetheless, I'm a bit confused by the error message :?
Image
User avatar
jacmoe
OGRE Retired Moderator
OGRE Retired Moderator
Posts: 20570
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2004 10:13 am
Location: Denmark
x 179
Contact:

Post by jacmoe »

You simply need to pass the vc8 distributable runtime along - and make sure that you are not giving out a debug build.
/* Less noise. More signal. */
Ogitor Scenebuilder - powered by Ogre, presented by Qt, fueled by Passion.
OgreAddons - the Ogre code suppository.
User avatar
danharibo
Minaton
Posts: 997
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2006 8:14 pm
Location: Wales, United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by danharibo »

jacmoe wrote:You simply need to pass the vc8 distributable runtime along - and make sure that you are not giving out a debug build.
I'm not, i do have sp1 and i can't find a re-dist or it
Ajare
Goblin
Posts: 282
Joined: Sat May 14, 2005 9:20 pm
x 1

Post by Ajare »

User avatar
danharibo
Minaton
Posts: 997
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2006 8:14 pm
Location: Wales, United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by danharibo »

nor sp1
Ajare
Goblin
Posts: 282
Joined: Sat May 14, 2005 9:20 pm
x 1

Post by Ajare »

I don't have VC here to check, but apparently SP1 installs the redist to %VSINSTALLDIR%\SDK\v2.0\BootStrapper\Packages\vcredist_*\. I found this on the very first hit for "vcredist sp1", you may be interested to know.
User avatar
danharibo
Minaton
Posts: 997
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2006 8:14 pm
Location: Wales, United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by danharibo »

Ajare wrote:I don't have VC here to check, but apparently SP1 installs the redist to %VSINSTALLDIR%\SDK\v2.0\BootStrapper\Packages\vcredist_*\. I found this on the very first hit for "vcredist sp1", you may be interested to know.
It isn't there.
User avatar
jacmoe
OGRE Retired Moderator
OGRE Retired Moderator
Posts: 20570
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2004 10:13 am
Location: Denmark
x 179
Contact:

Post by jacmoe »

C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio 8\SDK\v2.0\BootStrapper\Packages\vcredist_x86
It is bad practice, and much better to build an installer, using WIX.
Look at the Ogre source for an example (Demos installer script). :wink:
/* Less noise. More signal. */
Ogitor Scenebuilder - powered by Ogre, presented by Qt, fueled by Passion.
OgreAddons - the Ogre code suppository.
User avatar
syedhs
Silver Sponsor
Silver Sponsor
Posts: 2703
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 3:24 pm
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
x 51

Post by syedhs »

Jacmoe,

Why is it a bad practise - it always work and looks clean to me :wink:
User avatar
jacmoe
OGRE Retired Moderator
OGRE Retired Moderator
Posts: 20570
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2004 10:13 am
Location: Denmark
x 179
Contact:

Post by jacmoe »

sinbad wrote:vcredist.exe is the hacky way anyway, and even those with the Pro version of VS2005 didn't get an update to that file with SP1 so it's no longer useful. The correct way is to build a proper installer - use WiX or something similar. You can see the WiX script for our own demos in Samples\Common\Setup.
Taken from this topic:
http://www.ogre3d.org/phpBB2/viewtopic. ... t=vcredist

It makes sense to me, although you *can* get it to work using vcredist, it is simply less errorprone with an installer script.
/* Less noise. More signal. */
Ogitor Scenebuilder - powered by Ogre, presented by Qt, fueled by Passion.
OgreAddons - the Ogre code suppository.
User avatar
jacmoe
OGRE Retired Moderator
OGRE Retired Moderator
Posts: 20570
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2004 10:13 am
Location: Denmark
x 179
Contact:

Post by jacmoe »

Just noticed that you're in that topic as well .. :)

I just might write a mini-tut on distributing your Ogre application ...
/* Less noise. More signal. */
Ogitor Scenebuilder - powered by Ogre, presented by Qt, fueled by Passion.
OgreAddons - the Ogre code suppository.
User avatar
danharibo
Minaton
Posts: 997
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2006 8:14 pm
Location: Wales, United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by danharibo »

jacmoe wrote:
C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio 8\SDK\v2.0\BootStrapper\Packages\vcredist_x86
It is bad practice, and much better to build an installer, using WIX.
Look at the Ogre source for an example (Demos installer script). :wink:
I DON'T HAVE THIS FILE
:roll:
It isn't there. It never was. Also i have SP1. as i mentioned.
User avatar
jacmoe
OGRE Retired Moderator
OGRE Retired Moderator
Posts: 20570
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2004 10:13 am
Location: Denmark
x 179
Contact:

Post by jacmoe »

Of course you haven't! :p
For VC Express: you can make your own MSI redistributable using the MSM files that are available at: \Program Files\common files\Merge Modules

using the method mentioned here:

http://blogs.msdn.com/nikolad/archive/2 ... 60368.aspx

He has a typo in step 8, it should be:

a >cd d:\WiX
b. >candle.exe vccrt.wxs -out vccrt.wixobj
c. >light.exe vccrt.wixobj -out vccrt.msi
/* Less noise. More signal. */
Ogitor Scenebuilder - powered by Ogre, presented by Qt, fueled by Passion.
OgreAddons - the Ogre code suppository.
User avatar
jacmoe
OGRE Retired Moderator
OGRE Retired Moderator
Posts: 20570
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2004 10:13 am
Location: Denmark
x 179
Contact:

Post by jacmoe »

Interestingly, Microsoft writes all over the place that vcredist_whatever.exe is the preferred method for VC Express, but they are not providing us with the correct, updated sp1 redist package, are they!? :evil:
/* Less noise. More signal. */
Ogitor Scenebuilder - powered by Ogre, presented by Qt, fueled by Passion.
OgreAddons - the Ogre code suppository.
User avatar
danharibo
Minaton
Posts: 997
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2006 8:14 pm
Location: Wales, United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by danharibo »

4. I am typing uuidgen –n2 and click Enter. This generates two UUIDs for me that I am going to use later in Step 6.
Doesn't work

Microsoft! :roll:
User avatar
danharibo
Minaton
Posts: 997
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2006 8:14 pm
Location: Wales, United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by danharibo »

Also, i can't type anything into windows explorer address bars. as they just reset every time the taskbar changes.
User avatar
jacmoe
OGRE Retired Moderator
OGRE Retired Moderator
Posts: 20570
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2004 10:13 am
Location: Denmark
x 179
Contact:

Post by jacmoe »

I finally found a straight-forward how-to:
http://blogs.msdn.com/nikolad/archive/2 ... puter.aspx :)
/* Less noise. More signal. */
Ogitor Scenebuilder - powered by Ogre, presented by Qt, fueled by Passion.
OgreAddons - the Ogre code suppository.
User avatar
danharibo
Minaton
Posts: 997
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2006 8:14 pm
Location: Wales, United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by danharibo »

jacmoe wrote:I finally found a straight-forward how-to:
http://blogs.msdn.com/nikolad/archive/2 ... puter.aspx :)
Yes, I'm having trouble with Step 4.
User avatar
jacmoe
OGRE Retired Moderator
OGRE Retired Moderator
Posts: 20570
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2004 10:13 am
Location: Denmark
x 179
Contact:

Post by jacmoe »

Try using the Visual Studio 2005 Command Prompt and run the UUIDgen tool from there.
/* Less noise. More signal. */
Ogitor Scenebuilder - powered by Ogre, presented by Qt, fueled by Passion.
OgreAddons - the Ogre code suppository.
User avatar
danharibo
Minaton
Posts: 997
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2006 8:14 pm
Location: Wales, United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by danharibo »

jacmoe wrote:Try using the Visual Studio 2005 Command Prompt and run the UUIDgen tool from there.
:roll:
What do you think i'm doing.
User avatar
jacmoe
OGRE Retired Moderator
OGRE Retired Moderator
Posts: 20570
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2004 10:13 am
Location: Denmark
x 179
Contact:

Post by jacmoe »

Do you have uuidgen somewhere? Maybe in the PSDK?
If not, check that you've installed the platform tools.
Otherwise, Google for uuidgen. :wink:
/* Less noise. More signal. */
Ogitor Scenebuilder - powered by Ogre, presented by Qt, fueled by Passion.
OgreAddons - the Ogre code suppository.
User avatar
jacmoe
OGRE Retired Moderator
OGRE Retired Moderator
Posts: 20570
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2004 10:13 am
Location: Denmark
x 179
Contact:

Post by jacmoe »

I wonder if this works for you?
http://www.famkruithof.net/uuid/uuidgen :)
/* Less noise. More signal. */
Ogitor Scenebuilder - powered by Ogre, presented by Qt, fueled by Passion.
OgreAddons - the Ogre code suppository.
User avatar
danharibo
Minaton
Posts: 997
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2006 8:14 pm
Location: Wales, United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by danharibo »

C:\Program Files\Microsoft Platform SDK\Bin
8)
User avatar
danharibo
Minaton
Posts: 997
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2006 8:14 pm
Location: Wales, United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by danharibo »

Image
:cry:
Post Reply