Let SimpleRenderable use the render priority Topic is solved

What it says on the tin: a place to discuss proposed new features.
Post Reply
User avatar
Souvarine
Halfling
Posts: 79
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 12:01 am
Location: France
x 5

Let SimpleRenderable use the render priority

Post by Souvarine »

Hi everyone.

I've made my own class deriving from SimpleRenderable and after wasting about one hour trying to understand why the render queue priority didn't have any effect on it I found this into Ogre's code

Code: Select all

void SimpleRenderable::_updateRenderQueue(RenderQueue* queue)
{
    queue->addRenderable(this, mRenderQueueID, OGRE_RENDERABLE_DEFAULT_PRIORITY); 
}
Is there any reason why all SimpleRenderable must use the default priority ?

I did this in my derived class and it works just fine.

Code: Select all

void SpriteRenderable::_updateRenderQueue(Ogre::RenderQueue* queue)
{
    queue->addRenderable(this, mRenderQueueID, mRenderQueuePriority);
}
Also, I think a getter for mRenderQueuePriority in MovableObject class would be useful.

Regards.
Puzzle Platform Race
Open source action reflection platform game

JamesAMD
Gnoblar
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2016 4:57 pm

Re: Let SimpleRenderable use the render priority

Post by JamesAMD »

Thank you ! You just saved me from additional few hours(or days) of headache. You sir, are my hero.
I'm not sure why this is not fixed even in 1.9.0.

paroj
OGRE Team Member
OGRE Team Member
Posts: 969
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2014 2:51 pm
x 290
Contact:

Re: Let SimpleRenderable use the render priority

Post by paroj »

fixed in 1.10. next time open an issue: https://ogre3d.atlassian.net/projects/OGRE/issues

Post Reply