Ogre ImGui binding

A place for users of OGRE to discuss ideas and experiences of utilitising OGRE in their games / demos / applications.
Crashy
Google Summer of Code Student
Google Summer of Code Student
Posts: 1005
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 9:15 pm
Location: Lyon, France
x 49
Contact:

Ogre ImGui binding

Post by Crashy »

Hi everybody,

I've just released my quick and (not so) dirty integration of imgui in ogre. I'm using it with Ogre 2.0 and GL3+/D3D11 render systems, but it may work with other ogre versions and/or D3d9 with minor modifications.
Now it works with Ogre 1.x too, and in D3D9, D3D11 & Gl 3+

Disclaimer: this is my very first release of open source code, so feel free to comment about improvements/fixes :)

http://bitbucket.org/LMCrashy/ogreimgui/overview

screenshot:
imguiogre.jpg
From the readme:

Integration

Create and init the ImguiManager after your Ogre init:

Code: Select all

ImguiManager::createSingleton();
ImguiManager::getSingleton().init(mSceneMgr,mOISKeyboardInput,mOISMouseInput);
Then in your render loop:

Code: Select all

ImguiManager::getSingleton().newFrame(getDeltaTime(), Ogre::Rect(0,0,_getRenderWindow()->getWidth(),_getRenderWindow()->getHeight()));
And voilà !

You can then use imgui just like you want.

Note

You'll also need to transfer input events from your OIS Input listener to the Imgui manager.
For example:

Code: Select all

bool MyInputManager::mouseMoved( const OIS::MouseEvent &arg )
{
    Ogre::ImguiManager::getSingleton().mouseMoved(arg);
}
Last edited by Crashy on Fri Sep 09, 2016 10:05 am, edited 2 times in total.
Follow la Moustache on Twitter or on Facebook
Image
User avatar
insider
Orc
Posts: 462
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2011 12:50 pm
x 31

Re: Ogre ImGui binding

Post by insider »

Excellent :D
hydexon
Gremlin
Posts: 164
Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2013 8:51 pm
x 10

Re: Ogre ImGui binding

Post by hydexon »

OH DEAR GOD, Thanks you so much!
xrgo
OGRE Expert User
OGRE Expert User
Posts: 1148
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2013 10:59 pm
Location: Chile
x 168

Re: Ogre ImGui binding

Post by xrgo »

Fantastic!! thanks for sharing =D!
Crashy
Google Summer of Code Student
Google Summer of Code Student
Posts: 1005
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 9:15 pm
Location: Lyon, France
x 49
Contact:

Re: Ogre ImGui binding

Post by Crashy »

Thanks for your positive feedback.

I've just made some changes to use unified gpu programs, and I can also confirm it works with the D3D11 Render System.
Follow la Moustache on Twitter or on Facebook
Image
Crashy
Google Summer of Code Student
Google Summer of Code Student
Posts: 1005
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 9:15 pm
Location: Lyon, France
x 49
Contact:

Re: Ogre ImGui binding

Post by Crashy »

Aaaand now I've fixed build issues with Ogre 1.x and added D3D9 shaders.
Follow la Moustache on Twitter or on Facebook
Image
chaos creator
Gnoblar
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 5:56 pm
x 4

Re: Ogre ImGui binding

Post by chaos creator »

A few days ago I saw your post, searched for ImGUI and was surprised that I haven't seen it earlier.
So I immediately started trying to port it to Ogre 2.1 since that's what I'm currently porting.

First of all, your code was very legible and easy to understand, without it I don't even know if I would have even tried writing my own binding ;)

But unfortunately some things didn't work under Ogre 2.1
So first I tried doing everything the correct "v2 way" - which was way too complicated.
Using vao's and creating a movable object and renderables didn't work out for me (at least in the short amout of time I spent on it)
(BTW, there is a bug in your GLSL shader where you output "ocol" in the vertexshader but try to input "col" in the fragmentshader)

One of the issues render queue listeners: only renderQueueStarted is called (for the Ogre overlays to work),
so the listeners are basically useless :(

Then I had to modify the setting of the used Pass to use a hlms macro- and blendblock.
Also the correct blend mode was ignored by the render system, so I had to set it manually.


I'm not exactly sure how much I changed in the end, but I suspect your version and my 2.1 port differ to much to bundle it into one repro (also I changed some things to my own coding style :D)


Sooo.... I'll just show my own version ;)

Image

https://bitbucket.org/ChaosCreator/imgu ... inding/src


Usage

Just init ImguiManager once after you init Ogre:

Code: Select all

ImguiManager::getSingleton().init(mSceneManager);
... and that's about it.
No need to include anything else (besides the 4 source files)

Don't call Imgui::newFrame() or Imgui::render() or something similar, the ImguiManager does it for you.
Also be aware that it just renders the GUI in the middle of frameRenderingQueued.

Besides that: you can now call all your Imgui functions and the results are immediately shown.


Input

Nearly forgot to say...
You have to do that part yourself (at least for now)
I removed the OIS part as I'm using SDL. SDL has no listeners, so I see no point of handling input in the ImguiManager itself.
Basically you need to update the Imgui key- and mousestate within your own code, but that is completely unrelated to ogre.

And after all, the gui should also be seperated from the input system of your choise ;)



@Crashy
I also use the Imgui clipping data to set the scissoring tests accordingly ;)
You might look into that, but it means splitting the Renderables much more finely since clipping is performed on every Gui element
User avatar
only_a_ptr
Halfling
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2009 8:43 pm
x 2

Re: Ogre ImGui binding

Post by only_a_ptr »

Yay! I was almost determined to begin researching and integrating DearImgui and OGRE myself, but now I can just remain lazy.

Many thanks for both the 2.0 and 2.1 variant.
Rigs of Rods is alive and kicking!
hydexon
Gremlin
Posts: 164
Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2013 8:51 pm
x 10

Re: Ogre ImGui binding

Post by hydexon »

I have a little issue to trying it on Windows 10, OGRE 2.1/D3D11, OGRE throws an exception, about an sampler0 is not found when you set the named constant in ImGuiManager::createMaterial(), line 441.

The relevant log about the exception was:

Code: Select all

Invalid target for D3D11 shader 'imgui/VP/D3D9' - 'vs_2_0'
Invalid target for D3D11 shader 'imgui/FP/D3D9' - 'ps_2_0'
Exception thrown at 0x00007FFFFDCB7788 in DragoraCarbon.exe: Microsoft C++ exception: Ogre::InvalidParametersException at memory location 0x000000DED57CD510.
Unhandled exception at 0x00007FFFFDCB7788 in DragoraCarbon.exe: Microsoft C++ exception: Ogre::InvalidParametersException at memory location 0x000000DED57CD510.
i'm using the "chaos creator" version, i wonder why is using D3D9 as their default version when i'm using D3D11 version.
einherjer
Gnoblar
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 10:47 am

Re: Ogre ImGui binding

Post by einherjer »

Same problem for me with the OGRE 2.1 version:
14:31:07: OGRE EXCEPTION(2:InvalidParametersException): Parameter called sampler0 does not exist. Known names are: in GpuProgramParameters::_findNamedConstantDefinition at C:\OgreSDK\OgreMain\src\OgreGpuProgramParams.cpp (line 2214)
If I am commeting out the following line

Code: Select all

mPass->getFragmentProgramParameters()->setNamedConstant("sampler0", 0);
I am getting the following error when trying to render the GUI:
14:40:49: OGRE EXCEPTION(3:RenderingAPIException): D3D11 device cannot draw indexed
Error Description:ID3D11DeviceContext::DrawIndexed: A Vertex Shader is always required when drawing, but none is currently bound.
Active OGRE vertex shader name: imgui/VP/D3D11
Active OGRE fragment shader name: imgui/FP/D3D11 in D3D11RenderSystem::_render at C:\OgreSDK\RenderSystems\Direct3D11\src\OgreD3D11RenderSystem.cpp (line 3330)
What are we doing wrong (OGRE 2.1, D3D11, 64 bit, statically linked)?
chaos creator
Gnoblar
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 5:56 pm
x 4

Re: Ogre ImGui binding

Post by chaos creator »

Does it work under OpenGL?
I never used D3D11 because Ogre crashed even when I only included the Plugin.
Probably I should look into it, but because OpenGl is crossplattform I saw no problem in switching to it.

So unfortunatly right now I can't even search for the reason for the crash - but at least it was never guaranteed to work ;D

If you can try openGl I would be happy to hear if it worked :)
hydexon
Gremlin
Posts: 164
Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2013 8:51 pm
x 10

Re: Ogre ImGui binding

Post by hydexon »

chaos creator wrote:Does it work under OpenGL?
I never used D3D11 because Ogre crashed even when I only included the Plugin.
Probably I should look into it, but because OpenGl is crossplattform I saw no problem in switching to it.

So unfortunatly right now I can't even search for the reason for the crash - but at least it was never guaranteed to work ;D

If you can try openGl I would be happy to hear if it worked :)
Doesn't work in OpenGL (in Windows), but unlike DX11, they don't crash but don't display anythying from ImGui ( called ImGui::ShowTestWindow() just after setting up ImGui ), the Log output throws OpenGL Error such GL_BIND something is invalid.
john21wall
Gnoblar
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2016 12:40 pm

Re: Ogre ImGui binding

Post by john21wall »

Hi guys, I am currently working with a program which implements terrain the same way it is implemented in the third basic tutorial. I have to add some effects which are easy done using material passes (fog_override so I have only fog where the terrain is and not above, caustics as animated texture), so I would love to use an .material file for this terrain. Is this somehow possible? Like if I would create an object using the entity-strategy described in basic tutorial 1.
User avatar
only_a_ptr
Halfling
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2009 8:43 pm
x 2

Re: Ogre ImGui binding

Post by only_a_ptr »

Hello.

I created a demo application to test the binding: https://github.com/only-a-ptr/ogre-imgui-test. It's basically trimmed OgreWiki-TutFramework with ImGUI + the binding included.

With DirectX9, I get a blurry text and slightly misaligned elements - apparently the entire sizing is off, although settings are default.
DirectX9
DirectX9
Ogre.log
DirectX9
(15.06 KiB) Downloaded 175 times
With OpenGL, UPDATE: I fixed the GLSL shader bug discovered by user <chaos creator> above. The rendering is now crisp :D - but that only makes me more baffled by the DirectX issue.

I'm using Windows 7 x64, Visual Studio 2015 pro, OGRE 1.9 - rest is visible from the logs. I'm quite baffled by the scaling issue of DirectX - can anyone enlighten me please? Note that so far I've only worked with LMCrashy's repository version of the binding, I haven't inspected the other modification (and mentioned bugs).
Rigs of Rods is alive and kicking!
User avatar
only_a_ptr
Halfling
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2009 8:43 pm
x 2

Re: Ogre ImGui binding

Post by only_a_ptr »

Sorry for bumping, but attachment limit...

I tested again on a different machine (geForce videocard). Same issue. I'm attaching Ogre.log to show my full specs, and also a comparsion image of DirectX9 / OpenGL rendering result.
closeup render output.
closeup render output.
Anyone has an idea what's the problem?
Attachments
Ogre.log
DirectX on geForce660 machine.
(14.17 KiB) Downloaded 179 times
Rigs of Rods is alive and kicking!
User avatar
dark_sylinc
OGRE Team Member
OGRE Team Member
Posts: 5296
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2007 4:55 pm
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
x 1278
Contact:

Re: Ogre ImGui binding

Post by dark_sylinc »

Looks like the D3D9 version isn't using the half-texel offset correction (whereas OGL & D3D11 don't need it)

Ogre 1.x provides how much offset to apply via RenderSystem::getHorizontalTexelOffset & RenderSystem::getVerticalTexelOffset and also via texel_offsets auto binding for shaders.

I don't know anything about this ImGui port so I cannot help further. AFAIK ImGui already has a D3D9 backend, so it's very likely they already some facility to perform the texel offset, if so, it would be just a matter of telling ImGui to use it when D3D9 RenderSystem is active.

Cheers
Crashy
Google Summer of Code Student
Google Summer of Code Student
Posts: 1005
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 9:15 pm
Location: Lyon, France
x 49
Contact:

Re: Ogre ImGui binding

Post by Crashy »

I'm gonna take a look as soon as I have some time left. I haven't tested the dx9 version that much.
ImGUi doesn't use any texture to render, so at least it's not a filtering issue, Dark Sylink is surely right about the texel offset.

I'm also going to fix that glsl little bug, it works fine on my nVidia card but I know in/out variable naming is important on some hardware.
Follow la Moustache on Twitter or on Facebook
Image
User avatar
devxkh
Halfling
Posts: 84
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2016 6:07 pm
Location: Germany
x 12

Re: Ogre ImGui binding

Post by devxkh »

I've tried to implement imgui with a movable object without luck. Seems to be a projectionmatrix problem, that i don't understand. :)
Maybe someone else is interrested and is able to solve this.
http://www.ogre3d.org/forums/viewtopic. ... 05#p536905
My little OGRE engine -> FrankE WIP
User avatar
only_a_ptr
Halfling
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2009 8:43 pm
x 2

Re: Ogre ImGui binding

Post by only_a_ptr »

@dark_sylinc: Thanks for the pointer - problem solved, code published in my test repo

Once I learned what to look for, it wasn't hard to find it in ImGui's DirectX9 sample: header comment and the projection matrix

@Crashy: Feel free to grab anything from my test repo! :)
Rigs of Rods is alive and kicking!
User avatar
only_a_ptr
Halfling
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2009 8:43 pm
x 2

Re: Ogre ImGui binding

Post by only_a_ptr »

BUMP!

Another issue: Font rendering. Only the built-in bitmap font "ProggyClean" works OK, any TTF font will come out distorted.
DirectX9 looks worst. OpenGL is better, but also broken.
Attachments
Code used to insert the font is equivalent: size=25, all defaults
Code used to insert the font is equivalent: size=25, all defaults
Rigs of Rods is alive and kicking!
Crashy
Google Summer of Code Student
Google Summer of Code Student
Posts: 1005
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 9:15 pm
Location: Lyon, France
x 49
Contact:

Re: Ogre ImGui binding

Post by Crashy »

Hi,
thanks, i've merged your changes into my repo, and also fixed the glsl shader.
I'll try to use another font and tell you my results.
Follow la Moustache on Twitter or on Facebook
Image
Crashy
Google Summer of Code Student
Google Summer of Code Student
Posts: 1005
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 9:15 pm
Location: Lyon, France
x 49
Contact:

Re: Ogre ImGui binding

Post by Crashy »

BTW, how are you adding the extra-fonts ?
Could you please also output & post it the generated atlas ?

Just add this at the end of ImguiManager::createFontTexture

Code: Select all

Ogre::Image dst;
    mFontTex->convertToImage(dst,false);
    dst.save("f:/font.tga");
Follow la Moustache on Twitter or on Facebook
Image
User avatar
only_a_ptr
Halfling
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2009 8:43 pm
x 2

Re: Ogre ImGui binding

Post by only_a_ptr »

@crashy
- For the DirectX9 sample, I uncommented this line (plus the `GetIO()` one) and changed font filename.
- For my testbed, I added the same line at the top of `createFontTexture()` function.

I have image-dump code in there already, but I don't think the image atlas is the problem. Here's a side-by-side comparsion screenshot with ImGui's Dx9 demo - the textures look perfectly equivalent:
imgui-OGRE-fontTexture-comparsion.png
Here's the dumped texture anyway (white font on transparent BG, so it's OK to appear blank :D ):
dumped image atlas texture
dumped image atlas texture
Rigs of Rods is alive and kicking!
Crashy
Google Summer of Code Student
Google Summer of Code Student
Posts: 1005
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 9:15 pm
Location: Lyon, France
x 49
Contact:

Re: Ogre ImGui binding

Post by Crashy »

Okay. At least my atlas is the same as yours.
But I don't have any glyph visible here using GL3+ RS. I'm looking for a fix.
Follow la Moustache on Twitter or on Facebook
Image
Crashy
Google Summer of Code Student
Google Summer of Code Student
Posts: 1005
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 9:15 pm
Location: Lyon, France
x 49
Contact:

Re: Ogre ImGui binding

Post by Crashy »

Ok, I think I've found the issue, at least on GL*
It was just a filtering issue, just as I expected, see this changeset: https://bitbucket.org/LMCrashy/ogreimgu ... fd8f0ce036

Please tell me if that fixed your bug.
Follow la Moustache on Twitter or on Facebook
Image
Post Reply