Scaling issue when using Easy Ogre Exporter

Discussion area about developing with Ogre2 branches (2.1, 2.2 and beyond)
Post Reply
Hotshot5000
OGRE Contributor
OGRE Contributor
Posts: 154
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 12:30 pm
x 2

Scaling issue when using Easy Ogre Exporter

Post by Hotshot5000 » Wed Jun 12, 2019 8:30 pm

I have some meshes in FBX format that are exported to Ogre Mesh version 1.10 by using Easy Ogre Exporter. After that I convert the mesh from 1.10 to 2.1 using

Code: Select all

OgreMeshTool_d.exe -e -t -ts 4 -O puqs -v2 ship0.mesh ship0v21.mesh
The curious thing about this is that in game, no matter how big or small do I scale the mesh I always get it at the same size. Basically very small, covering only a few pixels on screen.

Any idea what might cause this weird behavior?

EDIT: I use the defaults when exporting with Easy Ogre Exporter.
0 x

User avatar
dark_sylinc
OGRE Team Member
OGRE Team Member
Posts: 4066
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2007 4:55 pm
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
x 228
Contact:

Re: Scaling issue when using Easy Ogre Exporter

Post by dark_sylinc » Thu Jun 13, 2019 12:46 am

You mean the scale set in 3DS Max or Maya?

Often exporters require you first to bake or collapse transform nodes so that scale gets embedded into the mesh data.
That's really exporter-specific.

Also IIRC Maya works in centimeters by default, and some exporters don't account for that (or you need to tweak a setting).
0 x

Hotshot5000
OGRE Contributor
OGRE Contributor
Posts: 154
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 12:30 pm
x 2

Re: Scaling issue when using Easy Ogre Exporter

Post by Hotshot5000 » Thu Jun 13, 2019 8:25 pm

dark_sylinc wrote:
Thu Jun 13, 2019 12:46 am
You mean the scale set in 3DS Max or Maya?

Often exporters require you first to bake or collapse transform nodes so that scale gets embedded into the mesh data.
That's really exporter-specific.

Also IIRC Maya works in centimeters by default, and some exporters don't account for that (or you need to tweak a setting).
My artist uses 3DS Max 2016. I will try to collapse the transform nodes see if I get anything different.

EDIT: What exporter do you recommend to export from 3DS Max to mesh?
0 x

Post Reply