OgreJNI for linux

Anything and everything that's related to OGRE or the wider graphics field that doesn't fit into the other forums.
User avatar
jordiperezarti
Kobold
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Sep 01, 2024 7:50 pm

OgreJNI for linux

Post by jordiperezarti »

I am creating the basic skeleton to run Ogre 14.2.6 in java using the JAR provided in the download.
But i need the Ogre java native interface JNI file for linux.
I have the OgreJNI.dll for windows, but what i need is the OgreJNI.so for linux.

I can not find the file in the downloads, can someone point me the URL to get the OgreJNI.so for linux?

thanks.

paroj
OGRE Team Member
OGRE Team Member
Posts: 2106
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2014 2:51 pm
x 1132

Re: OgreJNI for linux

Post by paroj »

OgreJNI is currently only built for Android and Windows. For Linux you will have to build Ogre from source to get it.

User avatar
jordiperezarti
Kobold
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Sep 01, 2024 7:50 pm

Re: OgreJNI for linux

Post by jordiperezarti »

I run the cmake to build the sources for linux, but it stops due some X11 dependencies, because i have kubuntu distro with wayland instead X11.

andrecaldas
Halfling
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon May 06, 2024 1:06 am
x 3

Re: OgreJNI for linux

Post by andrecaldas »

jordiperezarti wrote: Wed Sep 04, 2024 4:05 pm

I run the cmake to build the sources for linux, but it stops due some X11 dependencies, because i have kubuntu distro with wayland instead X11.

I will tell you my experience. I hope it helps. I do not use Qt, I use Gnome. And my windows are created with SDL. So, I will simply change Gnome and SDL by Qt in my wordings below. :-)

Unfortunately, when compiling Ogre you have to choose Wayland or X11. But when Qt creates a window, you need to set things up so that the window Qt creates is of the same type of your Ogre build.

Ogre can run both, but you have to choose when compiling. Qt can use both, but you have to choose it somehow. I believe you must use the environment variable QT_QPA_PLATFORM.
https://doc.qt.io/qt-6/qpa.html

For SDL, the environment variable is "SDL_VIDEO_DRIVER" for sdl3 and "SDL_VIDEODRIVER" FOR sdl2.