3ds max, biped problem

The place for artists, modellers, level designers et al to discuss their approaches for creating content for OGRE.
Post Reply
atif
Gnoblar
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2005 4:36 pm
Location: Oman
Contact:

3ds max, biped problem

Post by atif »

hi guys ive been having this serious problem.i m using biped for my characters in 3ds max ,when i try to export my character it gives an error messege with the following title

max rollout handler exception


-unknown property."scale" in $Biped_ObjectBip01 @[0.000000,0.000003,0.000000]

ive have exported characters using bibed before but nevr had this problem before but now i cant export any character with biped the same error keeps popping up with different values..i also have no problem when using simple bones ,could it be tht my 3ds max - biped files are corrupted
plese help me out...
KO
Gnoblar
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2005 6:20 pm

Post by KO »

I would very much appreciate a solution on this as well. I'm running into the same problem.
I just started using the ogre Exporter so I may well have made some mistake somewhere along the process.
thx in advance.
atif
Gnoblar
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2005 4:36 pm
Location: Oman
Contact:

Post by atif »

well no solutions till now KO......... :cry:
User avatar
BlasterN
Gnome
Posts: 378
Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2005 1:07 am
Location: Spain
Contact:

Post by BlasterN »

I never see this before. But maybe the field "scale" in the exporter is blank and because of that is undefined and thow the error. the default is 1.00.

if don't work... Increase the model size maybe the problem is that.

I really don't know the solution but maybe that helps.
Works:
MapToMesh | Bengine B9 @ www.sourceforge.net/projects/maptoogremesh/
3DWorldStudio exporter@ www.blastern.info
KO
Gnoblar
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2005 6:20 pm

Post by KO »

hey BlasterN
thanks for the suggestions. Still not working, unfortunately...
I'm thinking of anything that has to do with scaling the Root Bone Bip01...

I have no idea what's wrong. The Bip01 doesn't even have a scaling value. And it's not supposed to. Why is that causing a problem?
I'm guessing it must be a problem with the rigging or something... I did everything the way McSwan described it in his tutorial...
atif
Gnoblar
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2005 4:36 pm
Location: Oman
Contact:

Post by atif »

man scaling is not the only problem .i ve tried using a biped without any scaling at all and i got the same error this time for translations.dunno wht i m doing wrong yhis proplem is making me crazy

and the problem is with the root it gives values of the root
atif
Gnoblar
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2005 4:36 pm
Location: Oman
Contact:

Post by atif »

man scaling is not the only problem .i ve tried using a biped without any scaling at all and i got the same error this time for translations.dunno wht i m doing wrong this proplem is making me crazy

and the problem is with the root it gives values of the root
atif
Gnoblar
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2005 4:36 pm
Location: Oman
Contact:

Post by atif »

oops sorry posted the same reply twice
I did everything the way McSwan described it in his tutorial...
could u send me a link to this tutorial.ill try it out too
KO
Gnoblar
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2005 6:20 pm

Post by KO »

It's stickied in the Content Creation forum, but here's a direct link for your convenience: http://www.ogre3d.org/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=10040
atif
Gnoblar
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2005 4:36 pm
Location: Oman
Contact:

Post by atif »

hi again have u tried reinstalling ur 3ds max could it be a problem with max. i used to work fine with biped before but since ive reinstalled max and im having this problem...??
KO
Gnoblar
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2005 6:20 pm

Post by KO »

no I haven't tried yet...
what MAx version are you running?

I'm gonna take this down to University on Thursday to try it on Max 7. I only got Max 5.

Why are we the only ones who've run into this problem up to now?
atif
Gnoblar
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2005 4:36 pm
Location: Oman
Contact:

Post by atif »

im using max 7 and as i said there no problem with max version it worked fine with max 7....well keep tryin if i have any success ill let u know :roll:
User avatar
Mikachu
Gnoll
Posts: 603
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2005 4:11 pm
Location: Nice, France
x 35

Post by Mikachu »

I have the same issue with max 6...
I think the problem is that the exporter considers all bone should have a scale value, which is not true for the root bone with biped.

Perhaps you could detect in the script when it applies to "bip01" and then return 1 as scale.

I'll try this...
User avatar
Mikachu
Gnoll
Posts: 603
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2005 4:11 pm
Location: Nice, France
x 35

Post by Mikachu »

well, if I remove these 3 lines from ogrebipedlib.ms :

Code: Select all

if (d.parent != undefined) then (
        pos = pos * d.parent.scale ;
    )
and then restart max, it doesn't display the error message, and seems to export normally.

I know it's not a real solution, because there's information loss, but I'm working on this...
User avatar
Mikachu
Gnoll
Posts: 603
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2005 4:11 pm
Location: Nice, France
x 35

Post by Mikachu »

It's me again...

It seems that replacing

Code: Select all

if (d.parent != undefined) then (
        pos = pos * d.parent.scale ;
    ) 
by this

Code: Select all

if ((d.parent != undefined) and (hasproperty d.parent "scale")) then (
        pos = pos * d.parent.scale ;
    )
in ogrebipedlib.ms and then restarting 3dsmax makes the exporter work...
8)
Can anyone confirm ?
KO
Gnoblar
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2005 6:20 pm

Post by KO »

Yeah

seems to be exporting fine, although I get some weird jerking motions when my Character turns around his own axis (on a 360° turn, he jerks around in a weird fashion while he's facing backwards from the camera...)

could be a problem with my animation though... everything else seems fine. Thanks for the tip Mikachu!

[edit]Seems like the jerking is a meshviewer Problem. Our programmer just inserted the model and it works fine in a testevironment. Huge Thanks Mikachu! Someone should edit the topic title to [solved]
atif
Gnoblar
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2005 4:36 pm
Location: Oman
Contact:

Post by atif »

thnx mikachu ur a life saver
sichuan
Halfling
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2004 2:25 pm

error?

Post by sichuan »

I try to change code as the above.
The exporter work well when exporting.
But when I use it in the game.
The animation is not same as I saw in Max. ( especially non-biped models )
Anybody have the recommended?
sichuan
Halfling
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2004 2:25 pm

hasProperty and isProperty

Post by sichuan »

Adding hasProperty can help some models exporting correctly.
But some models become strange I tried before.
Mainly, deformations will occur when animating.
Another instruction, isProperty, I found from the MAXScript reference.
All models seem to work well, if use isProperty to replace hasProperty.
Post Reply