[SoC 2006] RmOgreInstaller
-
- Google Summer of Code Student
- Posts: 78
- Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2005 3:35 pm
- Location: USA
[SoC 2006] RmOgreInstaller
I've composed a preliminary installer for RenderMonkey stuff that was developed this summer (python plugin rewritement + some kind of previewer). You are expected to run windows and RenderMonkey 1.6 is expected to be installed somewhere before launching installer. Root credentials for user that runs installer is also expected.
There is no mention of license in the installer right now, but it is MIT.
URL: http://sukhoy.public.iastate.edu/soc200 ... ller20.exe
Note that the whole plugin logic is now implemented in python. Besides, it means that you do not need visual studio to tweak things - just text editor.
The missing part is of course docs on rmsdk wrapper and on minimal ogre wrapper I had to write - oh yes, with boost::python (it is no trouble, although PyOGRE folks for some reason think so ). There was some reason why PyOgre was not an option - primarily because of material serializer lack, but after that I had to develop "fake material framework" just to use that serializer properly, so probably doing mini wrapper was the best thing I could do for now. The previewer itself is extremely simplistic, just slightly redesigned example framework which maps given material over ogrehead. I used to have had some code which deals with RenderMonkey geometry, but because of flaw in my backup strategy it is gone - I plan to resurrect it once stop mourning .
As for functionality - the functionality is pretty much the same except that now builtin OGRE serializer is used (through "fake" material framework), so the result is expected to be much more robust against possible changes in material framework. I think I will add zip file support and GL branch pretty soon.
And I expect this version to be much more tweaking-friendly, as I mentioned above.
There is no mention of license in the installer right now, but it is MIT.
URL: http://sukhoy.public.iastate.edu/soc200 ... ller20.exe
Note that the whole plugin logic is now implemented in python. Besides, it means that you do not need visual studio to tweak things - just text editor.
The missing part is of course docs on rmsdk wrapper and on minimal ogre wrapper I had to write - oh yes, with boost::python (it is no trouble, although PyOGRE folks for some reason think so ). There was some reason why PyOgre was not an option - primarily because of material serializer lack, but after that I had to develop "fake material framework" just to use that serializer properly, so probably doing mini wrapper was the best thing I could do for now. The previewer itself is extremely simplistic, just slightly redesigned example framework which maps given material over ogrehead. I used to have had some code which deals with RenderMonkey geometry, but because of flaw in my backup strategy it is gone - I plan to resurrect it once stop mourning .
As for functionality - the functionality is pretty much the same except that now builtin OGRE serializer is used (through "fake" material framework), so the result is expected to be much more robust against possible changes in material framework. I think I will add zip file support and GL branch pretty soon.
And I expect this version to be much more tweaking-friendly, as I mentioned above.
-
- OGRE Retired Team Member
- Posts: 19269
- Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2002 11:19 pm
- Location: Guernsey, Channel Islands
- x 66
-
- Orc
- Posts: 498
- Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2006 5:27 pm
-
- Gnoblar
- Posts: 14
- Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 6:27 pm
- Location: Leipzig, Germany
Hi,
can´t wait to play with the new exprter but do I need some additional libraries or something?
I´ve installed RenderMonkey 1.6 and RmOgre but now when I run RenderMonkey I get a "Visual C++ Runtime Error".
I´ve also installed the Visual C++ Redistributable (from Visual Studio 2005).
Hope you can help.
can´t wait to play with the new exprter but do I need some additional libraries or something?
I´ve installed RenderMonkey 1.6 and RmOgre but now when I run RenderMonkey I get a "Visual C++ Runtime Error".
I´ve also installed the Visual C++ Redistributable (from Visual Studio 2005).
Hope you can help.
-
- Google Summer of Code Student
- Posts: 78
- Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2005 3:35 pm
- Location: USA
It is likely that I forgot to include some dependency in the installer. Could you C&P the error message (you can copy error message by hitting Ctrl-C while the error message is active)?yoursort wrote: I´ve installed RenderMonkey 1.6 and RmOgre but now when I run RenderMonkey I get a "Visual C++ Runtime Error".
Obviously I should've tested it on more machines/configurations.
-
- OGRE Retired Moderator
- Posts: 20570
- Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2004 10:13 am
- Location: Denmark
- x 179
This could mean any number of things, but usually it is caused by missing DLLs and/or a mixup of release/debug configurations..The application has requested the Runtime to terminate it in an unusual way.
/* Less noise. More signal. */
Ogitor Scenebuilder - powered by Ogre, presented by Qt, fueled by Passion.
OgreAddons - the Ogre code suppository.
Ogitor Scenebuilder - powered by Ogre, presented by Qt, fueled by Passion.
OgreAddons - the Ogre code suppository.
-
- Gnoblar
- Posts: 14
- Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 6:27 pm
- Location: Leipzig, Germany
Here it is:
But I think this won´t help you.
Code: Select all
---------------------------
Microsoft Visual C++ Runtime Library
---------------------------
Runtime Error!
Program: C:\Programme\RenderMonkey 1.6\RenderMonkey.exe
This application has requested the Runtime to terminate it in an unusual way.
Please contact the application's support team for more information.
---------------------------
OK
---------------------------
-
- Google Summer of Code Student
- Posts: 78
- Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2005 3:35 pm
- Location: USA
Indeed. Thanks anyway.yoursort wrote:Here it is:
But I think this won´t help you.
You may try to run depends.exe tool or filemon on RenderMonkey - maybe the missing dependency will show up.
Meanwhile I'll be testing it around to see if I have similar problem. I tried a couple of friend's machines, and everything went fine, but those folks are developers, so they may have smth installed that fixes the problem.
-
- Google Summer of Code Student
- Posts: 78
- Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2005 3:35 pm
- Location: USA
unlikely, since this usually shows up immediately after running release.jacmoe wrote: mixup of release/debug configurations..
However in DLL hell situation everything is possible (and there is some DLL hell with devil.dll e.g. which is supplied by rendermonkey, but I haven't noticed any problems yet..)
-
- OGRE Moderator
- Posts: 7157
- Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 7:35 am
- Location: Brisbane, Australia
- x 534
Crashing for me too.
Depends says it's missing python24.dll and boost_python-vc80-mt-1_33_1.dll.
Edit: Forget that, I'm half asleep. Those files are installed into the rendermonkey directory, and I ran depends on the plugin in the plugins directory, so of course it couldn't see them. Wish I realised that before compiling boost.
Depends says it's missing python24.dll and boost_python-vc80-mt-1_33_1.dll.
Edit: Forget that, I'm half asleep. Those files are installed into the rendermonkey directory, and I ran depends on the plugin in the plugins directory, so of course it couldn't see them. Wish I realised that before compiling boost.
-
- OGRE Moderator
- Posts: 7157
- Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 7:35 am
- Location: Brisbane, Australia
- x 534
Ok, fixed it. Pywin32 is required. I installed that, and rendermonkey now loads and exports shaders.
(The exporter was trying to find win32ui.*, which is part of pywin32. Yay for good old filemon)
(The exporter was trying to find win32ui.*, which is part of pywin32. Yay for good old filemon)
-
- OGRE Retired Moderator
- Posts: 20570
- Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2004 10:13 am
- Location: Denmark
- x 179
It's still crashing for me.
Maybe we are missing msvcrt.dll ?
<edit> I see! Going to grab that pyWin thingie .. </edit>
Maybe we are missing msvcrt.dll ?
<edit> I see! Going to grab that pyWin thingie .. </edit>
/* Less noise. More signal. */
Ogitor Scenebuilder - powered by Ogre, presented by Qt, fueled by Passion.
OgreAddons - the Ogre code suppository.
Ogitor Scenebuilder - powered by Ogre, presented by Qt, fueled by Passion.
OgreAddons - the Ogre code suppository.
-
- OGRE Moderator
- Posts: 7157
- Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 7:35 am
- Location: Brisbane, Australia
- x 534
-
- OGRE Retired Moderator
- Posts: 20570
- Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2004 10:13 am
- Location: Denmark
- x 179
Yeah, I figured it would be a good idea to match versions.
I've used Python for Win32 before, and used to use an installer with everything in it, so if buddy used that, I can see how easy it is to overlook the fact that those extensions are not installed by the official Python install.
Woohoo!
I just exported the anisotropic sample to Ogre, and got that cool preview window! This is so great, buddy!
I've used Python for Win32 before, and used to use an installer with everything in it, so if buddy used that, I can see how easy it is to overlook the fact that those extensions are not installed by the official Python install.
Woohoo!
I just exported the anisotropic sample to Ogre, and got that cool preview window! This is so great, buddy!
/* Less noise. More signal. */
Ogitor Scenebuilder - powered by Ogre, presented by Qt, fueled by Passion.
OgreAddons - the Ogre code suppository.
Ogitor Scenebuilder - powered by Ogre, presented by Qt, fueled by Passion.
OgreAddons - the Ogre code suppository.
-
- Gnoblar
- Posts: 14
- Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 6:27 pm
- Location: Leipzig, Germany
-
- Silver Sponsor
- Posts: 2703
- Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 3:24 pm
- Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
- x 51
Cool, I am downloading the tool and all its prerequisites. Shader programming is definitely on my todo list - this tool will certainly boost my confidence.
A bit OT: Previously I thought RM runs only on ATI, and FX Composer runs only on NVIDIA - that that is of course incorrect. What are the differences anyway?
A bit OT: Previously I thought RM runs only on ATI, and FX Composer runs only on NVIDIA - that that is of course incorrect. What are the differences anyway?
-
- Silver Sponsor
- Posts: 2703
- Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 3:24 pm
- Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
- x 51
I have to admit - after fidling for more than an hour, the RM crashed on me whenever I clicked on one of the 'effect' nodes and this only occurs after I tried to view Edit -> Preference (RM doesn't show any preference window either). Definitely something lack or wrong - but I have no idea.
Have installed (listed in order):-
1) RM 1.6
1) Python-2.4.3.msi
2) pywin32-209.win32-py2.4.exe
3) RmOgreInstaller20.exe
All are installed in default directory, any extra manual copying?
Have installed (listed in order):-
1) RM 1.6
1) Python-2.4.3.msi
2) pywin32-209.win32-py2.4.exe
3) RmOgreInstaller20.exe
All are installed in default directory, any extra manual copying?
-
- Google Summer of Code Student
- Posts: 78
- Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2005 3:35 pm
- Location: USA
-
- Google Summer of Code Student
- Posts: 78
- Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2005 3:35 pm
- Location: USA
ATI is an ATI tool and FX Composer is an NVidia toolsyedhs wrote: A bit OT: Previously I thought RM runs only on ATI, and FX Composer runs only on NVIDIA - that that is of course incorrect. What are the differences anyway?
FX Composer is DX-only, RM supports glslang shaders.
Actually both should run just fine, although some people tend to think that RM is a bit more plugin-friendly (although you can do pretty much the same with FXC too).
-
- Google Summer of Code Student
- Posts: 78
- Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2005 3:35 pm
- Location: USA
Actually this preview is a bit less that I wanted to do.. It happened so that sinbad proposed to build what is now fxogretool as a part of SoC, and I did some poor job evaluating timeframes after that, and the previewer for RM got a little crude in the end.jacmoe wrote: I just exported the anisotropic sample to Ogre, and got that cool preview window! This is so great, buddy!
Nevertheless you can see 'em in OGRE
Last edited by buddy on Tue Sep 12, 2006 10:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.
-
- Google Summer of Code Student
- Posts: 78
- Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2005 3:35 pm
- Location: USA
Ok. Too bad all my friends and me too use ActivePython..jacmoe wrote:Yeah, I figured it would be a good idea to match versions.
I've used Python for Win32 before, and used to use an installer with everything in it, so if buddy used that, I can see how easy it is to overlook the fact that those extensions are not installed by the official Python install.
The CVS of installer script will get fixed, of course.
-
- OGRE Retired Moderator
- Posts: 20570
- Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2004 10:13 am
- Location: Denmark
- x 179
I used to use that one. But I switched to using the official Python win32 installation package directly from python.org.buddy wrote:Ok. Too bad all my friends and me too use ActivePython..
I think I used ActivePython because there wasn't any official win installers around back then.
But that's changed.
/* Less noise. More signal. */
Ogitor Scenebuilder - powered by Ogre, presented by Qt, fueled by Passion.
OgreAddons - the Ogre code suppository.
Ogitor Scenebuilder - powered by Ogre, presented by Qt, fueled by Passion.
OgreAddons - the Ogre code suppository.
-
- Google Summer of Code Student
- Posts: 78
- Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2005 3:35 pm
- Location: USA
Still there is no pywin32 in the official installer. That's kind of.. Anyway.jacmoe wrote:But that's changed.
[OT]As for win installers - it seems that "official" one's are around for as much as 2-3 years. I do remember installing Py 1.6 with something like official installer back in stone age, although that can be a myth . [/OT]
-
- Orc Shaman
- Posts: 707
- Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2006 7:51 pm
- Location: Sacramento, CA
- x 1
Hmm. I installed python and pywin finaly getting rendermonkey to load up.
Unfortunately I can't find any sign of the ogre export feature from within rendermonkey.
When I select a shader effect to export and right click I only see FX
and from the file menu only FX and Pachage exporter.
I'm an artist not a coder so I have limited knowledge of technical stuff, but I did managed to get the old ogre exporter to work about 9 months ago.
Any pointers in regards to why nothing shows up?
This is the current 1.62 version of rendermonkey as there doesn't seem to be anything older avaliable on their site.
Unfortunately I can't find any sign of the ogre export feature from within rendermonkey.
When I select a shader effect to export and right click I only see FX
and from the file menu only FX and Pachage exporter.
I'm an artist not a coder so I have limited knowledge of technical stuff, but I did managed to get the old ogre exporter to work about 9 months ago.
Any pointers in regards to why nothing shows up?
This is the current 1.62 version of rendermonkey as there doesn't seem to be anything older avaliable on their site.
-
- Gnoblar
- Posts: 4
- Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2006 8:52 pm