[SOLVED] debug build still linking, pagefile to 5.8GB rising
-
- Halfling
- Posts: 63
- Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 4:21 pm
- Contact:
[SOLVED] debug build still linking, pagefile to 5.8GB rising
Is it normal for my windows pagefile to grow to nearly 6gb (so far) during linking of the debug build?
I'm doing this build for the first time, using VC++ 8.0 express, and I'm pretty sure I've put the development environment together properly.
I'm doing this build for the first time, using VC++ 8.0 express, and I'm pretty sure I've put the development environment together properly.
Last edited by Arcanor on Wed Jan 24, 2007 9:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.
- hmoraldo
- OGRE Expert User
- Posts: 517
- Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 11:22 pm
- Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
- x 1
- Contact:
This is probably a bad VC or sdk setup, or a corrupt download of ogre & dependencies.
H. Hernan Moraldo
Personal website
Personal website
-
- Halfling
- Posts: 63
- Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 4:21 pm
- Contact:
-
- Halfling
- Posts: 63
- Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 4:21 pm
- Contact:
One other interesting tidbit is that this only occurs during the Debug build. I can compile and run the Release build without a problem.
Hmm, maybe this isn't going to require a total reinstall? It's something only related to the debug build.
I'm also able to debug build another related solution (RakEngine) which includes a different version of Ogre (1.2.2) without any problems.
Hmm, maybe this isn't going to require a total reinstall? It's something only related to the debug build.
I'm also able to debug build another related solution (RakEngine) which includes a different version of Ogre (1.2.2) without any problems.
- xavier
- OGRE Retired Moderator
- Posts: 9481
- Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 2:03 am
- Location: Dublin, CA, US
- x 22
-
- Halfling
- Posts: 63
- Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 4:21 pm
- Contact:
-
- Halfling
- Posts: 63
- Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 4:21 pm
- Contact:
- pjcast
- OGRE Retired Team Member
- Posts: 2543
- Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2003 2:53 am
- Location: San Diego, Ca
- x 2
- Contact:
Just a small piece of advice. You set your pagefile to a fixed size regardless of building Ogre or not. Sure, it will waste a little extra harddrive space (which is cheap nowadays). But, you wil avoid fragmenting your drive with a growing/shrinking pagefile. Set it to about 1.5x or 2x your real memory size. Hopefully, you real RAM is quite large. Depending on your OS, you should have at least 512 to 1GB of ram ( more if running Vista). Besides that, if you can't get your system to build Ogre, just use the precompiled SDK.
Have a question about Input? Video? WGE? Come on over... http://www.wreckedgames.com/forum/
- xavier
- OGRE Retired Moderator
- Posts: 9481
- Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 2:03 am
- Location: Dublin, CA, US
- x 22
-
- Halfling
- Posts: 63
- Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 4:21 pm
- Contact:
I've already uninstalled/reinstalled VC++ 8.0, and have uninstalled the PSDK in preparation for a reinstall. I'm in the process of downloading all the .cab files to have a local install source just in case I have to do it again.
For reference, I'm running XP Media Center Edition 2002. The hardware includes:
- Athlon 64 X2 dual core 4200+
- 2gb of physical RAM
- 200+ gb C: drive which is less than 25% full
I had already set my pagefile to a range of 2046-4092mb, so I'm not sure why it had grown as large as it did. Maybe it was adding in my physical memory and that's why it died just as it hit 6gb (which is 2gb physical + 4gb virtual).
For reference, I'm running XP Media Center Edition 2002. The hardware includes:
- Athlon 64 X2 dual core 4200+
- 2gb of physical RAM
- 200+ gb C: drive which is less than 25% full
I had already set my pagefile to a range of 2046-4092mb, so I'm not sure why it had grown as large as it did. Maybe it was adding in my physical memory and that's why it died just as it hit 6gb (which is 2gb physical + 4gb virtual).
- pjcast
- OGRE Retired Team Member
- Posts: 2543
- Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2003 2:53 am
- Location: San Diego, Ca
- x 2
- Contact:
Well, your computer sounds more than capable. Really, set your pagefile to a static size (4GB sounds fine). However, your pagefile should not even be is use, 2GB of real RAM should be more than suffucient. Sounds to me like Media Cetner OS is not a good OS if it can't handle compiling Ogre (I have never used Media Center). I've never had a problem compiling Ogre on Win98, Win2000, or WinXP in terms of memory usage. And, I have had various RAM sizes (from 512, 768, 1GB).
Have a question about Input? Video? WGE? Come on over... http://www.wreckedgames.com/forum/
-
- Halfling
- Posts: 63
- Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 4:21 pm
- Contact:
After thinking it over I agree about setting the pagefile to 4gb permanently. I don't think it makes sense to worry about 2gb either way. I'm sure I'll be moving things to another drive well before I run out of space, if that ever happens. Thanks for the advice pjcast.
As for Media Center, I hope that's not the problem because I'm stuck with it. I don't believe it is though, since I can build several other ogre-related projects in both release and debug config without hardly blinking. I think it's got to be some sort of corrupted installation or config. Reinstalling everything will tell for sure, so that's what I'm doing, step by step.
I'll keep you posted.
As for Media Center, I hope that's not the problem because I'm stuck with it. I don't believe it is though, since I can build several other ogre-related projects in both release and debug config without hardly blinking. I think it's got to be some sort of corrupted installation or config. Reinstalling everything will tell for sure, so that's what I'm doing, step by step.
I'll keep you posted.
-
- Halfling
- Posts: 63
- Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 4:21 pm
- Contact:
Okay, problem solved! But there's a remaining question as to why this was needed to do.
The fix was: I turned off incremental linking in the OgreMain project. The project linked in seconds after that, and I have a new shiny OgreMain_d.dll. Woohoo!
I need to ask - is turning off incremental linking a danger in any way?
Thanks everyone for your help.
The fix was: I turned off incremental linking in the OgreMain project. The project linked in seconds after that, and I have a new shiny OgreMain_d.dll. Woohoo!
I need to ask - is turning off incremental linking a danger in any way?
Thanks everyone for your help.

- xavier
- OGRE Retired Moderator
- Posts: 9481
- Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 2:03 am
- Location: Dublin, CA, US
- x 22
-
- Halfling
- Posts: 63
- Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 4:21 pm
- Contact:
- sinbad
- OGRE Retired Team Member
- Posts: 19269
- Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2002 11:19 pm
- Location: Guernsey, Channel Islands
- x 66
- Contact:
If turning off incremental linking worked, it suggests the incremental link file was corrupt. This can very occasionally happen, you should upgrade to SP1 which fixes at least one problem in this area. Being incremental, if the link file is corrupt it will stay corrupt unless you get rid of it.
So, a clean build or deleting the incremental link file (.ilk) to force a full link might have worked too.
So, a clean build or deleting the incremental link file (.ilk) to force a full link might have worked too.
-
- Halfling
- Posts: 63
- Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 4:21 pm
- Contact:
I did actually try a total rebuild, and I'm quite sure the .ilk file was removed before starting the build. It didn't help. I watched the output folder as the .ilk file grew in stages to 2mb, then 4mb, 8mb, 16mb, 32mb, 64mb, then back to 0 and starting the cycle over again... infinitely, with my virtual mem usage going up a notch every time.
-
- Halfling
- Posts: 63
- Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 4:21 pm
- Contact: