Myrddin Landscape Plugin Demo 2

A place to show off your latest screenshots and for people to comment on them. Only start a new thread here if you have some nice images to show off!
Post Reply
User avatar
myrddinson
Greenskin
Posts: 125
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2008 1:16 pm
Location: France

Myrddin Landscape Plugin Demo 2

Post by myrddinson » Sun Aug 17, 2008 7:33 pm

So finally here is the Myrddin Landscape Plugin Demo 2 !

You can download it from this link:
http://dl.free.fr/qCyVqgzTE

This demo shows some new features like dynamic sky/haze, HDR/Bloom and runtime-generated materials.

Plugin features:

// paging (seamless or not, async streaming)

// terrain splatting (up to 8 layers - 3 layers max per pass),

// normal mapping,

// offset/parallax mapping,

// integrated lightmap : color added to ambient color,

// integrated color map : color modulated with diffuse color

// specular lighting (per layer specular color or specular color map),

// emissive lighting (per layer emissive color or emissive color map),

// optional per-layer diffuse and specular color,

// point/directional/spot light (one per pass)

// integrated fog

// integrated shadow map

// LOD mipmapping and geomorphing

// optional slope/ground autosplatting

// water plane(s) (refraction/reflection, sky and sun reflection, deep sea fog)

// dynamic sky (fullscreen sky quad, realtime atmospheric lighting computation, procedural clouds)

// dynamic fog (realtime atmospheric haze)

// HDR/Bloom (unclamped shaders)

// smooth range interpolation from full effects to low effects

// splatting material plugins (custom materials that can be added to runtime-generated splatting materials: for instance

LandscapeSplatting/DepthShadowMap/Integrated)

// runtime-generated splatting/water/sky/haze materials

// vs_3_0+/arbvp1 and ps_3_0+/arbfp1 shader support

// editing features : heightmap, color map, light map and splatting map painting

// fully compatible with OGRE and MOGRE (plugin is full C++)



And a bunch of photos to wait while downloading:
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
0 x

User avatar
Brocan
Orc
Posts: 441
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 1:43 am
Location: Spain!!

Post by Brocan » Sun Aug 17, 2008 7:47 pm

OMG! Amazing ! Awesome ! :D
0 x

User avatar
IFASS
Gnome
Posts: 387
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 12:07 pm
Location: Netherlands

Post by IFASS » Sun Aug 17, 2008 8:19 pm

Looking very good, downloading the demo right now.
Is it possible to use it on ps_2_0 cards and higher (using fallbacks of course)?
Targeting only ps_3_0 and higher limits the userbase a bit, although not sure if that's still the case today though.
0 x
Image

User avatar
myrddinson
Greenskin
Posts: 125
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2008 1:16 pm
Location: France

Post by myrddinson » Sun Aug 17, 2008 8:26 pm

As long as you do not use HDR or instanciate objects, the demo should run on vs_2_0/ps_3_0 cards because splatting/water/sky materials are runtime-generated and they are compiled for the most higher supported shader version.
But materials in the demo that are not runtime-generated like HDR/bloom materials and materials for the column and house objects use vs_3_0+/ps_3_0+ so you will need to modify these materials (they are not encrypted) to make them run on ps_2_0/vs_3_0 cards.
0 x

User avatar
myrddinson
Greenskin
Posts: 125
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2008 1:16 pm
Location: France

Post by myrddinson » Sun Aug 17, 2008 8:30 pm

By the way HDR needs unclamped shaders and so at least vs_3_0/ps_3_0 shaders.
0 x

capture
Goblin
Posts: 237
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 2:44 pm

Awesome

Post by capture » Sun Aug 17, 2008 8:35 pm

Now this is something I would love to make a screen savor out of.
0 x

th0br0
Gnoblar
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jun 08, 2008 9:56 pm

Post by th0br0 » Sun Aug 17, 2008 8:49 pm

Now this is something I'd like to see a Linux demo of.
Truly, it'd be great if you could give arrange for a Linux demo to be compiled, I'd be happy to help too.

:)
btw, the screenshots really look awesome
0 x

Dutchie
Halfling
Posts: 55
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 7:56 pm

Post by Dutchie » Sun Aug 17, 2008 10:03 pm

one word: WOW!

i know i said one word but i have to add something :P

It looks really nice and the 3d stuff runs perfect :)
25-40 fps on my radeon x1700 mobility with standard settings(HDR and stuff do eat something more if i turn them on, but that is just standard).

HDR doesn't have a big effect in the scene? well, i don't really see much of it.
And the sun goes just up and up? not to the south? :P well i am sure you will add that later.
I really like your sky.

Though i had one problem with your demo. The GUI doesn't really work well. But i think that is just the fault of quickGUI(it seems you use that according to dll file). i added a screen with it:

Image


and there seems to be "wrong" something else, you still have svn folders in your Datas directory. so now i get a nice ! sign from turtoiseSVN. i think you have to remove the svn stuff next time :P


I'll keep my eye on this project, this is really going to be nice. And maybe even usable for my project at a later time. Still at the beginning of my project now, but I will take any time to change to a perfect solution like this :)

Keep it up!


and if you need help or any testing, you can always PM me.
0 x

User avatar
Yuk1
Halfling
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2007 6:29 pm

Post by Yuk1 » Sun Aug 17, 2008 10:27 pm

One word : Beautiful

I'll download and check it ;)

Adieu ~>
0 x
Image


User avatar
Page
Gnoblar
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2008 12:13 am

Post by Page » Sun Aug 17, 2008 11:01 pm

Holy :O !
0 x

User avatar
myrddinson
Greenskin
Posts: 125
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2008 1:16 pm
Location: France

Post by myrddinson » Mon Aug 18, 2008 12:17 am

For dutchie:
i think gui is wrong because of GUI resolution low-scaling: QuickGui does not draw text if text bounding box is bigger than the control. I have designed the GUI for 1280x1024 resolution so you should try with a resolution with the same aspect ratio i guess.
0 x

User avatar
myrddinson
Greenskin
Posts: 125
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2008 1:16 pm
Location: France

Post by myrddinson » Mon Aug 18, 2008 12:24 am

you can change sun azimuth on "sky settings" panel too;
for HDR, it is because main light HDR power is set by default to 1: i should have added a control to adjust HDR power... You can try by increasing "light intensity" on "atmospheric settings" panel but it is not exactly the same because it has a impact on sky lighting too.
0 x

centaurism
Kobold
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2007 4:10 am

Post by centaurism » Mon Aug 18, 2008 2:28 am

Awesome!!
0 x

Dutchie
Halfling
Posts: 55
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 7:56 pm

Post by Dutchie » Mon Aug 18, 2008 6:53 am

myrddinson wrote:For dutchie:
i think gui is wrong because of GUI resolution low-scaling: QuickGui does not draw text if text bounding box is bigger than the control. I have designed the GUI for 1280x1024 resolution so you should try with a resolution with the same aspect ratio i guess.
same effect @ 1024x768
myrddinson wrote:you can change sun azimuth on "sky settings" panel too;
for HDR, it is because main light HDR power is set by default to 1: i should have added a control to adjust HDR power... You can try by increasing "light intensity" on "atmospheric settings" panel but it is not exactly the same because it has a impact on sky lighting too.
changes it a bit better, but as you said not the same effect as HDR power.


can't wait to test a new version if you implemented the power or any new stuff :)
0 x

User avatar
KungFooMasta
OGRE Contributor
OGRE Contributor
Posts: 2087
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 7:11 am
Location: WA, USA
Contact:

Post by KungFooMasta » Mon Aug 18, 2008 4:30 pm

Nice! :)

Expect a new release of QuickGUI in the near future, it won't have these problems.
0 x
Creator of QuickGUI!

User avatar
sinbad
OGRE Retired Team Member
OGRE Retired Team Member
Posts: 19265
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2002 11:19 pm
Location: Guernsey, Channel Islands
x 2
Contact:

Post by sinbad » Tue Aug 19, 2008 3:13 pm

Very nice work.
0 x

User avatar
myrddinson
Greenskin
Posts: 125
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2008 1:16 pm
Location: France

Post by myrddinson » Wed Aug 20, 2008 1:14 am

I have tested on a laptop with native resolution of 1280x800 and GUI is ok : so not a font scaling problem...
I will fix HDR and perhaps add a separate GUI panel for it too.
0 x

User avatar
myrddinson
Greenskin
Posts: 125
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2008 1:16 pm
Location: France

demo update

Post by myrddinson » Mon Sep 01, 2008 12:35 am

I have fixed HDR and added HDR/Bloom GUI controls to Myrddin landscape demo 2.

You can download new demo from this link:
http://dl.free.fr/q1Tlr3Pam

Image
0 x

StevenP
Gnoblar
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 8:07 pm

Post by StevenP » Tue Sep 02, 2008 7:48 am

I can't run demo on my vista ultimate 64 bit.

The problem seems related to a compile switch:

If the C# main program loads the 64 bit framework it's because it's build using the default platform flag value (MSIL). You need to build your C# program with "platform = X86" in order to load the 32 bit framework.

without this switch the demo doesn't start, asserting error 0x8007000b (cannot setup assembly mogre.dll) looking for assembly registration in c:\windows\microsoft.net\framework64\v2.0.50727\config.machine.config

Please can you recompile the demo or give me some hint to run it on x64 machines ?
0 x

User avatar
myrddinson
Greenskin
Posts: 125
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2008 1:16 pm
Location: France

patch for Vista64

Post by myrddinson » Tue Sep 02, 2008 10:48 am

you can download patch for Vista64 here:
http://dl.free.fr/qOymMksKS

just overwrite MyrddinLandscapeDemo2 files with new ones.
I could not test myself so tell me if it is OK.
0 x

Brainshack
Greenskin
Posts: 118
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 1:01 pm

Post by Brainshack » Tue Sep 02, 2008 11:00 am

Are there any plans of releasing the plugin to the community? This looks so awesome ... i must have it xD
0 x
Image

User avatar
myrddinson
Greenskin
Posts: 125
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2008 1:16 pm
Location: France

licensing

Post by myrddinson » Tue Sep 02, 2008 11:05 am

Well, for now, i am planning to release both LGPL and commercial plugin licenses in about one to two months; LGPL license will include plugin documentation and C++ sources but not the shaders sources. Commercial license will include all sources.
0 x

reptor
Ogre Magi
Posts: 1120
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 7:41 pm
Location: Finland

Post by reptor » Tue Sep 02, 2008 11:54 am

I clicked the link in the first post and my firewall program went crazy soon after.

It says:

Inbound malware probe

The firewall has blocked this traffic

Direction: Incoming
Protocol: TCP
Services: Malware - Bagle.Y in
Remote port: http(80) Local port 2535
Remote address: 212.27.48.10 Local address 10.0.0.3
DNS name: img3.free.fr

So I just closed the page as soon as I could.

The firewall also tells me that there were 13 Inbound TCP connection attempts which were blocked,
services "TCP High Ports in", port 2541. Just before the malware alert. From the same IP address.

I recommend that the author of this plugin looks for another place to host it.
0 x

User avatar
myrddinson
Greenskin
Posts: 125
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2008 1:16 pm
Location: France

firewall

Post by myrddinson » Tue Sep 02, 2008 4:16 pm

Well, i tried the download link but my firewall - Kerio - did not complain about suspicious TCP intrusion - Kerio is set to block all TCP incoming.
I scanned the downloaded file for virus or malwares and did not find anything too so for now and if nobody else encounters troubles, plugin will stay at that place...
0 x

Post Reply