Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX
-
- Goblin
- Posts: 272
- Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 6:02 pm
- x 38
Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX
http://www.openspace3d.com
-
- Google Summer of Code Student
- Posts: 1005
- Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 9:15 pm
- Location: Lyon, France
- x 49
Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX
-
- Google Summer of Code Student
- Posts: 1005
- Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 9:15 pm
- Location: Lyon, France
- x 49
Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX
Link to my fork:
https://github.com/LMCrashy/EasyOgreExp ... its/master
1-There already was a exportMaterial boolean that was always true, I've just plugged it to a checkbox
2-I've implemented the #noprompt feature so we can export using maxscript using this command
Code: Select all
exportFile "test.mesh" #noPrompt selectedOnly:true
- If there is only one object selected, the exported mesh is named after the output filename.
- If there are multiple objects selected(or no selection), exporter behaves like the .scene exporter, but doesn't write any .scene file.
There are two things that did Ogremax and that are not done for the moment:
- .mesh export was enabled only through the "export selected" menu, not from the "export". I don't know how to make such a restriction
- When exporting to .mesh with multiple object selected, Ogremax was merging them in a single .mesh file, which was convenient in some cases. This is possible to do but obviously requires more work.
-
- Goblin
- Posts: 272
- Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 6:02 pm
- x 38
Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX
it seems someone else already make some similar changes I didn't notice before ^^
Also update your master, your version is missing some late changes.
I'll merge all your changes once it seem correct to you, maybe also some corrections from https://github.com/TaaTT4/EasyOgreExporter
http://www.openspace3d.com
-
- OGRE Contributor
- Posts: 233
- Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 12:30 pm
- x 58
Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX
Code: Select all
OgreMeshTool_d.exe -e -t -ts 4 -O puqs -v2 ship0.mesh ship0v21.mesh
Any idea what might cause this weird behavior?
EDIT: I use the defaults when exporting with Easy Ogre Exporter.
-
- Google Summer of Code Student
- Posts: 1005
- Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 9:15 pm
- Location: Lyon, France
- x 49
Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX
-
- Gnoblar
- Posts: 1
- Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2019 8:26 pm
Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX
i am working on a maxScript script to export some .max to .mesh using EasyOgreExporter. i was wandering if there was a way to set the export option values directly in the script so that my users would only have to press a button and be done. I saw that some work had been done to make the #noPrompt argument work but i doesn't seem to have made it in the current release yet.
thanks
-
- Goblin
- Posts: 272
- Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 6:02 pm
- x 38
Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX
it seems someone made a fork for this.
I don't have time right now to rebuild it all for max 2020 but I'll try to do it soon and maybe add some features from other forks
http://www.openspace3d.com
-
- Goblin
- Posts: 272
- Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 6:02 pm
- x 38
Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX
http://www.openspace3d.com
-
- Gnoblar
- Posts: 1
- Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2020 1:19 pm
Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX
I would like to request up-to-date build instructions for EOE.
The reason being that I tried to follow every build instruction I found (the one in the readme, and the one I found here from 2014) and I could not get it to build.
I'm using MSVSC 2019, the stable ogre SDK snapshot from https://www.ogre3d.org/download/sdk (OGRE 1.12.4 MSVC SDK), and 3DS MAX 2020.
If there is no other reliable solution, I can fall back to using an earlier version of visual studio, but I would like to keep my setup if possible.
If someone could clarify exactly what paths I need to use for what files and folders (dependencies and whatnot), that would already help a lot, but I'm a noob, so I would greatly appreciate step-by-step instructions.
Thank you in advance & I will update this post should I get close(r) to a solution.
-
- Goblin
- Posts: 272
- Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 6:02 pm
- x 38
Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX
I use a old version of Ogre 2.0, you can try to update the code to the latest Ogre version.
I'll will not have time soon to do it
http://www.openspace3d.com
-
- Gnoblar
- Posts: 2
- Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2020 5:38 am
- x 1
Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX
-
- Gnoblar
- Posts: 10
- Joined: Sat May 05, 2018 8:15 pm
Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX
-
- Gremlin
- Posts: 180
- Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2008 10:58 am
- Location: Kristiansand, Norway
- x 23
Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX
-
- Gnoblar
- Posts: 10
- Joined: Sat May 05, 2018 8:15 pm
Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX
-
- Bronze Sponsor
- Posts: 360
- Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2010 5:28 am
- Location: Florida
- x 213
Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX
My art contractor attempted to use shaders generated by EOE. I no longer have CG in my 64-bit builds. The GLSLES shader doesn't render in my game nor in Ogre Meshy. (The CG shader works fine in the latter.) I attempted an automatic CG to GLSL converter via cgc.exe, but it failed with a few errors.
Since CG shaders have been dead for 12 years now, is there a chance we could get proper HLSL and GLSL output from EOE? Do you have a price? It's only a matter of time before Metal and Vulcan shaders become a requirement.
In the meantime, I guess I will throw CG into my 64-bit build and hope I can get it working.
-
- Bronze Sponsor
- Posts: 479
- Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2015 4:20 pm
- Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
- x 167
Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX
Somone said that CG shaders are mostly HLSL, have you tried converting to that shader language?
-
- Bronze Sponsor
- Posts: 360
- Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2010 5:28 am
- Location: Florida
- x 213
Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX
I think it can be done, (I believe Unity does it), but how would you go about using HLSL in OpenGL on Linux/Mac with Ogre3D? SEO bubbles have made it hard for me to find an answer to that via search.
I've completely sucked for the last 15 years at shaders on Ogre to the point I don't even really use them unless they work out of the box from third-party code.
Also note, I'm still on the DirectX9/OpenGL2 renderers. My community has not paid for me to upgrade the engine. They want all these new features, but don't want to upgrade the plumbing.
Anyway, I will use cg for now (or fix the compiled cg output to work). But it would really be nice to have EOE export hlsl, glsl, glsles, SPIR-V, and Metal since that's the future. Sadly, I'm not the one who can contribute the code. But if someone wants to put a bounty out for it, I will gladly contribute coin.
-
- Bronze Sponsor
- Posts: 479
- Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2015 4:20 pm
- Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
- x 167
Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX
The latest versions of OGRE have a unified shader language, but it is based on GLSL.
-
- Bronze Sponsor
- Posts: 360
- Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2010 5:28 am
- Location: Florida
- x 213
Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX
I went ahead and implemented Cg shaders, and everything is working fine. So long as it doesn't break on future OS, it'll work until my Mac users start throwing money at me for ARM and Metal ports. Then, I'll have to look for other solutions or pay someone to rewrite them.
Speaking of which, I came across this on Paroj's Ogre Evolution proposals: https://github.com/OGRECave/evolution/b ... acement.md
I don't need it yet, but if/when I do, maybe I can grease the wheels to move this to a higher priority.