Visual C++ 2010 express and Intellisence
-
- Gnoblar
- Posts: 8
- Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 6:01 pm
Visual C++ 2010 express and Intellisence
Hello, I was wondering if there is a way to setup Intellisence for Visual c++ 2010 express edition. If it is not possible I have been looking at KDevelop but I am unsure of how well it's auto complete works with Ogre
-
- Orc Shaman
- Posts: 788
- Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 6:06 pm
- Location: Costa Mesa, California
- x 24
Re: Visual C++ 2010 express and Intellisence
Isn't intellisense on by default?
-
- Old One
- Posts: 2565
- Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2005 1:04 am
- Location: Paris, France
- x 56
Re: Visual C++ 2010 express and Intellisence
Try the one in 2012 express, it's better.
-
- Minaton
- Posts: 933
- Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 11:37 am
- Location: Germany
- x 110
Re: Visual C++ 2010 express and Intellisence
Intellisence is working for all supported languages of VS2010 except of C++/CRL. I hate the combination of C++ and .NET because of the missing intellisence.Klaim wrote:Try the one in 2012 express, it's better.
-
- Gnoblar
- Posts: 8
- Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 6:01 pm
Re: Visual C++ 2010 express and Intellisence
Thanks, Installing Visual studio 2012 express now 

-
- Old One
- Posts: 2565
- Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2005 1:04 am
- Location: Paris, France
- x 56
Re: Visual C++ 2010 express and Intellisence
To be precise it was working in a limited way for C++ even before that, up to VS 6. It had autocompletion but not refactoring and far less colors (which is a lot of people use VSAssist).Transporter wrote:Intellisence is working for all supported languages of VS2010 except of C++/CRL. I hate the combination of C++ and .NET because of the missing intellisence.Klaim wrote:Try the one in 2012 express, it's better.
What I meant also was that VS2012 is, compared to VS2010, faster on the UI and Intellisense feedback (if you omit slowdowns from VSAssist...) which is a huge productivity win.
-
- Gnoblar
- Posts: 8
- Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 6:01 pm
Re: Visual C++ 2010 express and Intellisence
In c++ 2010 express I had no intellisence, now I do have intellisence I just have to setup the project for 2012 express :p
-
- Old One
- Posts: 2565
- Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2005 1:04 am
- Location: Paris, France
- x 56
Re: Visual C++ 2010 express and Intellisence
Ah yes I forgot you were talking about the express version XD
-
- Gnoblar
- Posts: 8
- Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 6:01 pm
Re: Visual C++ 2010 express and Intellisence
Could you perhaps help me with this, when I compile in visual studio 2012 express I get this error:
Error 1147 error LNK1104: cannot open file 'libboost_thread-vc110-mt-gd-1_49.lib'
I setup the project the same way visual c++ 2010 requires because I was unsure what I would need to do differently.
Error 1147 error LNK1104: cannot open file 'libboost_thread-vc110-mt-gd-1_49.lib'
I setup the project the same way visual c++ 2010 requires because I was unsure what I would need to do differently.
-
- Old One
- Posts: 2565
- Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2005 1:04 am
- Location: Paris, France
- x 56
Re: Visual C++ 2010 express and Intellisence
It's not the same compiler, so the boost library file will have a different name than the one compiled with 2010. Here it tells you it can't find the library file for this compiler.
1. if you didn't, compile or get the compiled version of the boost library, with VS2012 (VC11) instead of VS2010 (VC10).
2. check that your project have the right boost directory for libraries (I think this is already ok)
1. if you didn't, compile or get the compiled version of the boost library, with VS2012 (VC11) instead of VS2010 (VC10).
2. check that your project have the right boost directory for libraries (I think this is already ok)
-
- Gnoblar
- Posts: 8
- Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 6:01 pm
Re: Visual C++ 2010 express and Intellisence
I built 1_51 instead of 1_49 by accident :p downloading 1_49 to build it now, seems like it will work though, thanks for all the help.
Edit: Hmm Seems like I can't compile 1_49 for visual studio 2012 express, the bootstrap.bat just seems to keep failing for me D:
Edit: Hmm Seems like I can't compile 1_49 for visual studio 2012 express, the bootstrap.bat just seems to keep failing for me D:
-
- Gremlin
- Posts: 170
- Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2011 1:55 am
- x 10
Re: Visual C++ 2010 express and Intellisence
Try using Boost Pro auto-installer: http://www.boostpro.com/download/
It downloads the libraries from SVN, and compiles them with your compiler. the 1_51 builder should have support for VS2012 if I remember correctly.
It downloads the libraries from SVN, and compiles them with your compiler. the 1_51 builder should have support for VS2012 if I remember correctly.
During the code inspection, a couple of minor points were noticed: -
Function inlining was critical to performance.
For MSVC, at least, a "delete 0" caused execution of 11 assembly instructions, including a function call. So in cases where performance is at an absolute premium it can be worth inserting the extra manual test.