Terrain editor

A place for users of OGRE to discuss ideas and experiences of utilitising OGRE in their games / demos / applications.
harmon
Halfling
Posts: 72
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 9:52 pm

Post by harmon »

can you post a link to psyclonist´s terrain editor, i can't seem to be able to find it...
User avatar
bugshake
Greenskin
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2005 1:12 pm
Location: Amsterdam

Post by bugshake »

@spookyboo : how did you do the rendering? I'm assuming the terrain is made out of patches of say 33 x 33 vertices? I allready know how to make something like this with only two textures: one grass, one sand, one greyscale. This way, using the fixed function pipeline, 4 texture stages can create this effect with [dest = text1 * alpha + text2 * (1-alpha)].

But you've got 6 and probably can do more! Does this mean you do 6 drawing iterations with 2 texture stages like [dest = dest + texture * alpha] each?. Since drawing pixels seems to be the bottle neck on my videocard (radeon 8500) I imagine the performance would go down 80% compared to the terrain demo in the ogre distribution.

Do you use a special trick or am I just assuming the wrong things here?

Also, I'd like to say the screenshot looks great and I am happy to read your trying to team up with other terrain editor makers. It looks like this could be a great editor for editing the terrain from the game perspective, not as a 2d greyscale image (as in terragen). Allthough terragen and random functions can produce nice terrain, in a game you want a terrain with a 'story' in it, like 'at the end of the dark passage was a chrystal clear lake with a small island on it, which was overgrown with ferns'. You don't get that with a perlin noise function. (sorry for going a bit off topic here...)
User avatar
spookyboo
Silver Sponsor
Silver Sponsor
Posts: 1141
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 5:57 am
x 151

Post by spookyboo »

bugshake,
The 6 texture you see are the one you can choose for. In fact you are limited to the number of textures your card can handle in one pass.
In my case (ATI 9600XT) this means that the terrain displays max. 4 textures (+ 4 alpha´s makes 8). If you try to select more, it gives you a warning. You could expand it to multiple passes I guess, but this decreases speed significantly.

If you want to know how the material file looks like for more than 2 textures, look in PLSM2 in the ogreaddons, or wait until I provide it for download.

harmon,
I don't have a link. I couldn't find it on the Yake site either.
User avatar
psyclonist
OGRE Expert User
OGRE Expert User
Posts: 286
Joined: Fri Nov 01, 2002 3:54 pm
Location: Berlin & Nuremberg, Germany
x 1

Post by psyclonist »

spookyboo wrote:harmon,
I don't have a link. I couldn't find it on the Yake site either.
It's primarily a scene editor and doesn't feature terrain editing. It would be possible to add that but it's not on my personal todo list.

-psy
User avatar
Lucky_Luciano
Greenskin
Posts: 136
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2005 9:25 pm
Location: Belgium

Post by Lucky_Luciano »

Nice work Spookyboo.

In case you are interested, I've send my current build (a binary and source version) for the PLM2 map-editor to Tuan Kuranes and he is placing it on the CVS as we speak. If you feel like it you can join in and add features to the map-editor the moment the CVS version is online. (Several other people here already agreed to help).

I'm going to make a centralized thread about it the moment everything is online (I expect this will be today or tomorrow).

One remark though: my map-editor isn't specifically made for the Paging Landscape2 plugin. As a matter of fact: I just changed three lines in my code and the map-editor loads up with the ST_EXTERIOR_CLOSE Scenemanager (see screenshot). The only thing you need to do is write a specific "Terrain morph"-function or "Terrain texture"-function for ST_EXTERIOR_CLOSE (which you can probably use from your map-editor). All the other stuff like the water-editor, fog-editor, skybox/skyplane/skydome-editor still work.

Mapeditor using the ST_EXTERIOR_CLOSE Scenemanager
Image
User avatar
spookyboo
Silver Sponsor
Silver Sponsor
Posts: 1141
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 5:57 am
x 151

Post by spookyboo »

GREAT.
I will take a look at your sources as soon as I can download them. It seems that you develop faster, so I am more convinced to drop my project.

My future project heavily relies on terrain and psyclonist's editor doesn't (at least it's not the first priority). Psyclonist's editor framework however, is what I had in mind in the first place. Maybe I can do some things for both projects...
User avatar
psyclonist
OGRE Expert User
OGRE Expert User
Posts: 286
Joined: Fri Nov 01, 2002 3:54 pm
Location: Berlin & Nuremberg, Germany
x 1

Post by psyclonist »

spookyboo wrote:My future project heavily relies on terrain and psyclonist's editor doesn't (at least it's not the first priority). Psyclonist's editor framework however, is what I had in mind in the first place. Maybe I can do some things for both projects...
In this case I'll speed up a bit so that I can let you play with the little bugger. Then you can better decide whether it's possible to use functionality in both tools or restrict it to the terrain editor.

-psy
User avatar
spookyboo
Silver Sponsor
Silver Sponsor
Posts: 1141
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 5:57 am
x 151

Post by spookyboo »

That would be great. I still believe there will be some overlap between your project and the Lucky Luciano´s project. Maybe we can talk him over to create a plugin for the editor framework.

Anyway, I´m anxious to see the features of both projects.
User avatar
jacmoe
OGRE Retired Moderator
OGRE Retired Moderator
Posts: 20570
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2004 10:13 am
Location: Denmark
x 179

Post by jacmoe »

Exactly!
It would be great to have the different editors plug into one another, or a game engine. That way we don't reinvent any wheels. Well written modules. :)
/* Less noise. More signal. */
Ogitor Scenebuilder - powered by Ogre, presented by Qt, fueled by Passion.
OgreAddons - the Ogre code suppository.
User avatar
spookyboo
Silver Sponsor
Silver Sponsor
Posts: 1141
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 5:57 am
x 151

Download editor

Post by spookyboo »

Hi,

I've made a (binary) version of my editor available for download. I know it isn't finished, it isn't polished and there are still some bugs. Maybe I will make some minor changes and then end it. Maybe someone might use it?

http://home.hetnet.nl/~spookyboo/WorldEditor.rar

Make a new project to start with. Don't use the mouse pointer to point to a location on the terrain where you want to apply a texture. Use the terrain cursor instead (the long .. thing). Use buttons 1 and 2 to unfreeze/freeze the camera.
User avatar
spookyboo
Silver Sponsor
Silver Sponsor
Posts: 1141
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 5:57 am
x 151

Download editor

Post by spookyboo »

Hi,

I've made a (binary Win32) version of my editor available for download. I know it isn't finished, it isn't polished and there are still some bugs. Maybe I will make some minor changes and then end it. Maybe someone might use it?

http://home.hetnet.nl/~spookyboo/WorldEditor.rar

Make a new project to start with. Don't use the mouse pointer to point to a location on the terrain where you want to apply a texture. Use the terrain cursor instead (the long .. thing). Use buttons 1 and 2 to unfreeze/freeze the camera.
User avatar
charlie
Greenskin
Posts: 146
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2004 1:43 pm
Location: Austria

Post by charlie »

Cool, just downloading...
User avatar
bugshake
Greenskin
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2005 1:12 pm
Location: Amsterdam

Post by bugshake »

Great! It performs beautifully and I can get upto 3 textures instead of 2. Over that I get a nice error message like you said :) I could texture the terrain, move around it and place a water element. The GUI looks really nice especially with all the thumbnails. One thing I noticed though: when you click on a GUI element, you're also drawing on the terrain.
User avatar
spookyboo
Silver Sponsor
Silver Sponsor
Posts: 1141
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 5:57 am
x 151

Post by spookyboo »

bugshake
Just press 1 and then click on the gui element. This prevents texturing the terrain
LaKing
Kobold
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Hungary

Post by LaKing »

URL seems to be broken
User avatar
spookyboo
Silver Sponsor
Silver Sponsor
Posts: 1141
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 5:57 am
x 151

Post by spookyboo »