Terrain editor
-
- Halfling
- Posts: 72
- Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 9:52 pm
-
- Greenskin
- Posts: 111
- Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2005 1:12 pm
- Location: Amsterdam
@spookyboo : how did you do the rendering? I'm assuming the terrain is made out of patches of say 33 x 33 vertices? I allready know how to make something like this with only two textures: one grass, one sand, one greyscale. This way, using the fixed function pipeline, 4 texture stages can create this effect with [dest = text1 * alpha + text2 * (1-alpha)].
But you've got 6 and probably can do more! Does this mean you do 6 drawing iterations with 2 texture stages like [dest = dest + texture * alpha] each?. Since drawing pixels seems to be the bottle neck on my videocard (radeon 8500) I imagine the performance would go down 80% compared to the terrain demo in the ogre distribution.
Do you use a special trick or am I just assuming the wrong things here?
Also, I'd like to say the screenshot looks great and I am happy to read your trying to team up with other terrain editor makers. It looks like this could be a great editor for editing the terrain from the game perspective, not as a 2d greyscale image (as in terragen). Allthough terragen and random functions can produce nice terrain, in a game you want a terrain with a 'story' in it, like 'at the end of the dark passage was a chrystal clear lake with a small island on it, which was overgrown with ferns'. You don't get that with a perlin noise function. (sorry for going a bit off topic here...)
But you've got 6 and probably can do more! Does this mean you do 6 drawing iterations with 2 texture stages like [dest = dest + texture * alpha] each?. Since drawing pixels seems to be the bottle neck on my videocard (radeon 8500) I imagine the performance would go down 80% compared to the terrain demo in the ogre distribution.
Do you use a special trick or am I just assuming the wrong things here?
Also, I'd like to say the screenshot looks great and I am happy to read your trying to team up with other terrain editor makers. It looks like this could be a great editor for editing the terrain from the game perspective, not as a 2d greyscale image (as in terragen). Allthough terragen and random functions can produce nice terrain, in a game you want a terrain with a 'story' in it, like 'at the end of the dark passage was a chrystal clear lake with a small island on it, which was overgrown with ferns'. You don't get that with a perlin noise function. (sorry for going a bit off topic here...)
-
- Silver Sponsor
- Posts: 1141
- Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 5:57 am
- x 151
bugshake,
The 6 texture you see are the one you can choose for. In fact you are limited to the number of textures your card can handle in one pass.
In my case (ATI 9600XT) this means that the terrain displays max. 4 textures (+ 4 alpha´s makes
. If you try to select more, it gives you a warning. You could expand it to multiple passes I guess, but this decreases speed significantly.
If you want to know how the material file looks like for more than 2 textures, look in PLSM2 in the ogreaddons, or wait until I provide it for download.
harmon,
I don't have a link. I couldn't find it on the Yake site either.
The 6 texture you see are the one you can choose for. In fact you are limited to the number of textures your card can handle in one pass.
In my case (ATI 9600XT) this means that the terrain displays max. 4 textures (+ 4 alpha´s makes

If you want to know how the material file looks like for more than 2 textures, look in PLSM2 in the ogreaddons, or wait until I provide it for download.
harmon,
I don't have a link. I couldn't find it on the Yake site either.
-
- OGRE Expert User
- Posts: 286
- Joined: Fri Nov 01, 2002 3:54 pm
- Location: Berlin & Nuremberg, Germany
- x 1
-
- Greenskin
- Posts: 136
- Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2005 9:25 pm
- Location: Belgium
Nice work Spookyboo.
In case you are interested, I've send my current build (a binary and source version) for the PLM2 map-editor to Tuan Kuranes and he is placing it on the CVS as we speak. If you feel like it you can join in and add features to the map-editor the moment the CVS version is online. (Several other people here already agreed to help).
I'm going to make a centralized thread about it the moment everything is online (I expect this will be today or tomorrow).
One remark though: my map-editor isn't specifically made for the Paging Landscape2 plugin. As a matter of fact: I just changed three lines in my code and the map-editor loads up with the ST_EXTERIOR_CLOSE Scenemanager (see screenshot). The only thing you need to do is write a specific "Terrain morph"-function or "Terrain texture"-function for ST_EXTERIOR_CLOSE (which you can probably use from your map-editor). All the other stuff like the water-editor, fog-editor, skybox/skyplane/skydome-editor still work.
Mapeditor using the ST_EXTERIOR_CLOSE Scenemanager

In case you are interested, I've send my current build (a binary and source version) for the PLM2 map-editor to Tuan Kuranes and he is placing it on the CVS as we speak. If you feel like it you can join in and add features to the map-editor the moment the CVS version is online. (Several other people here already agreed to help).
I'm going to make a centralized thread about it the moment everything is online (I expect this will be today or tomorrow).
One remark though: my map-editor isn't specifically made for the Paging Landscape2 plugin. As a matter of fact: I just changed three lines in my code and the map-editor loads up with the ST_EXTERIOR_CLOSE Scenemanager (see screenshot). The only thing you need to do is write a specific "Terrain morph"-function or "Terrain texture"-function for ST_EXTERIOR_CLOSE (which you can probably use from your map-editor). All the other stuff like the water-editor, fog-editor, skybox/skyplane/skydome-editor still work.
Mapeditor using the ST_EXTERIOR_CLOSE Scenemanager

-
- Silver Sponsor
- Posts: 1141
- Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 5:57 am
- x 151
GREAT.
I will take a look at your sources as soon as I can download them. It seems that you develop faster, so I am more convinced to drop my project.
My future project heavily relies on terrain and psyclonist's editor doesn't (at least it's not the first priority). Psyclonist's editor framework however, is what I had in mind in the first place. Maybe I can do some things for both projects...
I will take a look at your sources as soon as I can download them. It seems that you develop faster, so I am more convinced to drop my project.
My future project heavily relies on terrain and psyclonist's editor doesn't (at least it's not the first priority). Psyclonist's editor framework however, is what I had in mind in the first place. Maybe I can do some things for both projects...
-
- OGRE Expert User
- Posts: 286
- Joined: Fri Nov 01, 2002 3:54 pm
- Location: Berlin & Nuremberg, Germany
- x 1
In this case I'll speed up a bit so that I can let you play with the little bugger. Then you can better decide whether it's possible to use functionality in both tools or restrict it to the terrain editor.spookyboo wrote:My future project heavily relies on terrain and psyclonist's editor doesn't (at least it's not the first priority). Psyclonist's editor framework however, is what I had in mind in the first place. Maybe I can do some things for both projects...
-psy
-
- Silver Sponsor
- Posts: 1141
- Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 5:57 am
- x 151
-
- OGRE Retired Moderator
- Posts: 20570
- Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2004 10:13 am
- Location: Denmark
- x 179
Exactly!
It would be great to have the different editors plug into one another, or a game engine. That way we don't reinvent any wheels. Well written modules.
It would be great to have the different editors plug into one another, or a game engine. That way we don't reinvent any wheels. Well written modules.

/* Less noise. More signal. */
Ogitor Scenebuilder - powered by Ogre, presented by Qt, fueled by Passion.
OgreAddons - the Ogre code suppository.
Ogitor Scenebuilder - powered by Ogre, presented by Qt, fueled by Passion.
OgreAddons - the Ogre code suppository.
-
- Silver Sponsor
- Posts: 1141
- Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 5:57 am
- x 151
Download editor
Hi,
I've made a (binary) version of my editor available for download. I know it isn't finished, it isn't polished and there are still some bugs. Maybe I will make some minor changes and then end it. Maybe someone might use it?
http://home.hetnet.nl/~spookyboo/WorldEditor.rar
Make a new project to start with. Don't use the mouse pointer to point to a location on the terrain where you want to apply a texture. Use the terrain cursor instead (the long .. thing). Use buttons 1 and 2 to unfreeze/freeze the camera.
I've made a (binary) version of my editor available for download. I know it isn't finished, it isn't polished and there are still some bugs. Maybe I will make some minor changes and then end it. Maybe someone might use it?
http://home.hetnet.nl/~spookyboo/WorldEditor.rar
Make a new project to start with. Don't use the mouse pointer to point to a location on the terrain where you want to apply a texture. Use the terrain cursor instead (the long .. thing). Use buttons 1 and 2 to unfreeze/freeze the camera.
-
- Silver Sponsor
- Posts: 1141
- Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 5:57 am
- x 151
Download editor
Hi,
I've made a (binary Win32) version of my editor available for download. I know it isn't finished, it isn't polished and there are still some bugs. Maybe I will make some minor changes and then end it. Maybe someone might use it?
http://home.hetnet.nl/~spookyboo/WorldEditor.rar
Make a new project to start with. Don't use the mouse pointer to point to a location on the terrain where you want to apply a texture. Use the terrain cursor instead (the long .. thing). Use buttons 1 and 2 to unfreeze/freeze the camera.
I've made a (binary Win32) version of my editor available for download. I know it isn't finished, it isn't polished and there are still some bugs. Maybe I will make some minor changes and then end it. Maybe someone might use it?
http://home.hetnet.nl/~spookyboo/WorldEditor.rar
Make a new project to start with. Don't use the mouse pointer to point to a location on the terrain where you want to apply a texture. Use the terrain cursor instead (the long .. thing). Use buttons 1 and 2 to unfreeze/freeze the camera.
-
- Greenskin
- Posts: 146
- Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2004 1:43 pm
- Location: Austria
-
- Greenskin
- Posts: 111
- Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2005 1:12 pm
- Location: Amsterdam
Great! It performs beautifully and I can get upto 3 textures instead of 2. Over that I get a nice error message like you said
I could texture the terrain, move around it and place a water element. The GUI looks really nice especially with all the thumbnails. One thing I noticed though: when you click on a GUI element, you're also drawing on the terrain.

-
- Silver Sponsor
- Posts: 1141
- Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 5:57 am
- x 151
-
- Kobold
- Posts: 26
- Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2005 9:38 pm
- Location: Hungary
-
- Silver Sponsor
- Posts: 1141
- Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 5:57 am
- x 151