Freelance & command line ouput/scripting

Problems building or running the engine, queries about how to use features etc.
Ideas0014
Gnoblar

Freelance & command line ouput/scripting

Post by Ideas0014 » Mon Mar 17, 2014 4:34 pm

Hello,

I'm hoping to get some advice here and potentially a solution to my issue. I have a website that is coded in php hosted on a dedicated linux platform. I want to be able to display flat images to my users from a 3d modelling engine when passed a texture to apply.

Firstly, will ogre be suitable for this task? From my reading, this seems the case, but I'm not an expert.

Secondly, is this a suitable place to find a freelance designer who would be able to create the models & scripts for the texture input/output when run from a command line on the server?

I'm happy to discuss the project in further detail if you need more information.

Thanks,
Jez
0 x

areay
Bugbear

Re: Freelance & command line ouput/scripting

Post by areay » Tue Mar 18, 2014 10:24 am

Ideas0014 wrote: Firstly, will ogre be suitable for this task? From my reading, this seems the case, but I'm not an expert.
Yes, Ogre can apply textures to models. Of course you'd have to make sure the model was something that Ogre could use though, but it sounds like that can be handled as part of your second question...
Ideas0014 wrote: Secondly, is this a suitable place to find a freelance designer who would be able to create the models & scripts for the texture input/output when run from a command line on the server?
There is a recruitment section on this forum, you could ask there.

Here's one simple approach to your problem:
1. Recruit someone to create an Ogre application that takes command line arguments specifying what model to use, as well as the texture that the user will provide. You may also want it to take parameters like camera distance and orientation as well as the outputted filename of the screenshot that you want to present back to the user.