Using Ogre for 2D games?

Get answers to all your basic programming questions. No Ogre questions, please!
DavidAHouse
Gnoblar

Using Ogre for 2D games?

Post by DavidAHouse »

I'm pretty new to Ogre, so forgive if this question has been asked a million times ( a relevant search on the forums didn't return anything ). Has any thought been made to creating some 2D objects for Ogre? I know there is a Rectangle2D object in there, but how well could it be modified to support Sprites? I'm thinking the basics for getting a 2D game up and going would be a Sprite class that can render a 3D Quad to the screen using Ortho projection. Ability to specify coordinates in the (x,y) manner, support alpha transparency, and some form of collision detection. Also modifying the particle system to support 2D, and that might be all.

Just looking for some feedback, especially the kind of 'it can be done, but here is what would need to be written'. Or if its not a good idea, post that as well.

Kencho
OGRE Retired Moderator
OGRE Retired Moderator

Post by Kencho »

You can actually do that right now. Use billboards (the particle system doesn't need to change either) for the textured quads for the sprites, and with a simple orthographic projection you're done. Doing this allows you to do some great effects like the ones you can see in "Castlevania: Symphony of the Night" ("Castlevania: Nocturne in the moonlight" in Japan), where scaling, rotation, blending, merging 2D with 3D, particle systems... were used ;)

bana
Greenskin

Post by bana »

If you then combined that with ParticleEffects I could imagine some cool cool scenarios. :P
A proud member of the OpenFrag Coding Team.
http://coolhands.blogspot.com/

:wumpus:
OGRE Retired Team Member
OGRE Retired Team Member

Post by :wumpus: »