I am new to Ogre 2.2.5. I am looking at "Samples" and come across this line
Ogre::Item* item = sceneManager->createItem("Cube_d.mesh");
I can't find Cube_d.mesh under models folder...but program runs fine....does "_d" mean something?
Then I changed it to ninja.mesh (Ninga does exist), then program throws an error.
My resources config includes "material" folder.
thanks!
where is Cube_d.mesh
-
- Gnoblar
- Posts: 20
- Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2020 5:14 pm
Re: where is Cube_d.mesh
Forgot to add the error: https://gyazo.com/3644f92e0585ac554066eca949bb129f
Cannot find the serializer for mesh version
Cannot find the serializer for mesh version
-
- Bronze Sponsor
- Posts: 480
- Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2015 4:20 pm
- Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
- x 167
Re: where is Cube_d.mesh
The error you are getting is because ninja.mesh is a mesh created for OGRE 1.x and it seems that OGRE 2.x cannot read it.
You can use blender2ogre to export a cube and call it Cube_d.mesh and using the OGRE 2.x export tools you will get a OGRE 2.x compatible mesh.
I don't use OGRE 2.x so I don't know why there is a Cube_d.mesh, but assume is just a simple cube.
You can use blender2ogre to export a cube and call it Cube_d.mesh and using the OGRE 2.x export tools you will get a OGRE 2.x compatible mesh.
I don't use OGRE 2.x so I don't know why there is a Cube_d.mesh, but assume is just a simple cube.
-
- OGRE Team Member
- Posts: 5436
- Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2007 4:55 pm
- Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
- x 1343
Re: where is Cube_d.mesh
Hi!
As sercero said the ninja error is because it's a v1 mesh. It needs to be converted first, either offline (via OgreMeshTool.exe) or at runtime (see Samples/2.0/ApiUsage/V2Mesh); or you create it as a v1 Entity instead of a v2 Item.
As for Cube_d.mesh, it's inside Samples/Media/packs/DebugPack.zip and that zip is loaded in Resources.cfg:
Cheers
As sercero said the ninja error is because it's a v1 mesh. It needs to be converted first, either offline (via OgreMeshTool.exe) or at runtime (see Samples/2.0/ApiUsage/V2Mesh); or you create it as a v1 Entity instead of a v2 Item.
As for Cube_d.mesh, it's inside Samples/Media/packs/DebugPack.zip and that zip is loaded in Resources.cfg:
Code: Select all
[Essential]
Zip=/packs/DebugPack.zip
-
- Gnoblar
- Posts: 20
- Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2020 5:14 pm
Re: where is Cube_d.mesh
thanks guys! it worked via OgreMeshTool.exe. I had to scale the mesh by 0.02 to see the Ninja:-)